We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's as good as they say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% off with AAA
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's as good as they say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What can I say. It is as good as the other reviews say. The staff makes the stay. They really are here to make your stay perfect. They made sure our bed was super comfortable with a temperpedic mattress. The library is beautiful. We had a great visit wish we could come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Jammingde,

Thank you for your kind words. It is very encouraging when the team members read reviews such as this. We all work very hard to ensure guests feel a warm welcome when they come into our home. We hope the Heathman can become your home away from home too.

See you soon!

Kind Words
JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    227
    61
    33
    17
See reviews for
171
426
53
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Most of our travel is mid-level stuff. Occasionally we break out and live way beyond our means. This time it was five nights in The Heathman. Okay, the bathroom was an adventure in planned manoeuvres and where to put all the pillows? But we were not disappointed - not at all. The service was great, the rooms large and comfortable in the extreme, the in-room extras charming and quite able to elevate the mood whatever. Food excellent. But for us the real differentiator was the Library of signed first additions opened each evening, with a glass of fine local wine. We stayed for an hour discussing all things cultural with the charming young curator and getting further insights into the friendly city that is Portland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Ken G,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed the library. We are honored to be able to offer this amenity to our guests and are very proud of our collection.

We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are feeling like a splurge.

Best Regards,
JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We travel quite a bit and I have to say our experience was better than any we have had. From the check in process to the little things like chocolates and Voss water delivered to our room, everything was amazing. We were upgraded to a larger king room with a feather bed and it was so comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings and I have to say the salmon hash was amazing. Dinner was also incredible. I would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear coachsaca,

What a review - what can we say! It sounds like everything was just right for your visit to Portland! Plus, we are so pleased you were able to experience our Salmon Hash as it is one of the finest in the city! Next time you're in town, we hope you join us again!

Thank you so much, again, for taking the time to write this brilliant review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The good:

-Very central location
-Charming historic hotel
-Friendly Staff
-Room nicely decorated

The not as good:

-Bathroom was extremely small. Extremely small for a nice hotel. I'd say it is smaller than hotel bathrooms even in Europe, where rooms are smaller.
-Pillows were extremely flat and not comfortable. The hotel quickly provided an additional pillow, though even that was lacking.

Overall, I'd stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear EP99,

What a review! We loved the way you organized your experience! Thanks for sharing! Although we do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences during your stay we want to thank you for your flexibility and understanding. We never wish an uncomfortable stay on anyone and we thank you for making us aware of these issues! All that said, we hope you do come back and visit us again soon. On your return stay we hope you contact us directly to book your room and if ever there is an issue during your visit we hope you feel comfortable and welcome to let any staff member know!

Thank you again. We really appreciate it!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would have given this hotel a top rating were it not for a few minor things. On the whole, we really enjoyed staying here; the rooms are really nice, the service is super friendly, breakfast was delicious and location can't be beat. But we could barely open our closet doors, never got our room cleaned the one full day we were there and I think they forgot to do turn down the day of arrival. So while we felt we got pretty good value (our package included free parking and wifi), the housekeeping end of things does seem to need some work. Still … I've seen a LOT worse.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 6th floor and it was very quiet with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear MacBookLover,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Heathman Portland experience! Without such feedback we'd never have the opportunity to improve those things that matter the most to our visitors. We do want to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I will make sure to inform our Director of Housekeeping about the issues you raise. Thank you for being so understanding and we hope you still enjoyed your time in Portland!
We would love to welcome you back and recommend you contact us directly to ensure that the next reservation is top notch and the issues you encountered this time are only a faint memory.

Thanks again for taking the time to write the review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service was excellent and the room was clean, attractive and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.
The location is very good, close to anything down town. We like to search for new restaurants and shop. We ate in the attached restaurant for breakfast and the food was wonderful.
We had the bed and breakfast package which gave us comp parking and credit toward any thing on the breakfast menu which was a very good value.
Wifi was excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Cactusue,

We hope you do stay here again soon and that we will have the pleasure of being your base during your downtown Portland adventures! Glad you experienced such fine dining both at the Heathman Restaurant and Bar as well as all the local eateries and cafes! We are also pleased to hear that you took advantage of the Bed and Breakfast package, it really is a great deal and helps ease some of the added worry that travel can bring.

Thanks again for the great review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved our stay. We were a bit surprised to be in what seemed like a very standard hotel room when we payed for a "mini suite". (or junior suite, or whatever it's called). Pretty pricey for a small hotel room, but nice place regardless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Greg S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Heathman Portland. We are so pleased to hear about the experience that the guest has while staying with us! We hope that we were a great location and home away from home during you city adventures. Here's to welcoming you back again soon!

Take care,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heathman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heathman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.