We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Heathman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Spring Offer
Ranked #3 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was initially disappointed by the lobby-- it seemed small and did not wow me. The room, however -- a Symphony Suite -- was really terrific. The king bed was super comfortable and the two sinks, one in a separate area from the tub/toilet, were helpful. For a few of our nights, my adult daughter and a friend slept on the pullout bed in the living room area separated by wooden pocket doors from the bedroom. Even with four of us in the space, it was fine.The bathtub is a little small and I think the hotel could upgrade the shower hardware, but that's a quibble (it took me a while to figure out how to use the shower). Good towels, robe, as others have mentioned, the water bottles, etc. The cleaning people did an excellent job each day. Also, re the lobby-- there's a big lounge area next to the lobby that is lovely. We didn't really use the concierge services, but everyone seemed really friendly. The guys in the red outfits outside the front door are really kind of Portland in their attitude. Don't expect to be greeted by them as if you're at the Four Seasons, but that's ok. Great location -- we walked everywhere, 23rd St/Nob Hill, the Pearl, East Burnside, the Saturday Market (OK but frankly just another huge crafts fair, at this point, i've seen enough in my life), the Saturday Farmer's Market (a don't miss).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear NewYorkNYTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent visit to the Heathman Hotel. We like to deliver a truly excellent experience to our guests, with friendly and professional staff and effective service. I apologize that some of your interactions with our staff were not to these standards.
It is a pleasure to read your review and hope that you would consider staying with us again. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Portland, and the Heathman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    171
    46
    28
    15
See reviews for
130
320
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had so much fun staying at the Heathman Hotel. The staff made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything for our stay. Drinks in the lounge were fun and a wonderful start for our visit. Just exploring this amazing building was adventure, it is so beautiful and interesting! We had room service for breakfast and it was awesome. The fresh press coffee service was a special surprise and we enjoyed it very much. We had just a day and a half to explore downtown so it was great to be within walking distance of so many wonderful Portland places. The Picnic House right across the street served a tasty dinner. It seemed every aspect of our stay was just a little superior to all my other travels, I'm spoiled for life!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Beth M,

Thank you for the spectacular review! I will share it with the whole team. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to explore so many great things about the Heathman and about Portland. We were also pleased to hear you mention the Tea Court lounge and that you were able to enjoy a cocktail in that comfortable setting! We just changed our coffee over to a local company and pleased to hear you enjoyed that as well!
Thank you again for taking the time to submit your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at The Heathman for a few nights back in May.

As far as the physical hotel is concerned, we had nothing to complain about. The hotel is centrally located and close to shopping and restaurants. The room itself was clean,comfortable and well-appointed, but did have a very tiny bathroom, as other reviewrs have pointed out. But I can deal with that.

The hotel itself is worth 4 stars.

Unfortunately, the service didn't live up to the quality of the physical hotel. From a lost reservation (despite a confirmation) and resulting downgrade due to a lack of availablity, to an argument with the concierge about a service that was confirmed in an email but denied upon arrival and terrible, terrible, SLOW service in the restaurant, we we're less than impressed. The final straw was discovering my car, parked on the street, with the doors left UNLOCKED, despite having paid $30/night for parking/valet.

I don't know. The hotel was busy, so maybe we had a bad weekend, or just a string of bad luck. I'm not sure. I'm not completely opposed to trying the hotel again, as it has been kept in quite nice shape, but I wouldn't necessarily jump at the chance to stay here again, either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear AshleyEve,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to express your experience at the Heathman. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. A member of our Guest Service Relations team would be happy to speak with you and would encourage you to contact us with your phone number or email address.
We look forward to hearing from you and we look forward to working with you personally in ensuring the next time around is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the Beefeater doorman to the tasteful decor, it's a great hotel. First thing we noticed is there are small check-in desks separated from each other, so you have some privacy. Check-in was quick and easy. Front desk personnel really know their stuff, from pubs to area attractions to fine dining to riding the light rail.

The rooms were very tastefully appointed and the free bottled water was appreciated (as was the high-end in-room tea and French press coffee.) L'Occitane toiletries were great, plenty of towels and nice robes and slippers. Couldn't ask for a nicer room (well, a nicer view would have been good, but not much can be done about that.)

Breakfast was included, and was good but not spectacular. Dinner at the restaurant was, again, good but not great. However, the drinks in the bar were really nice.

Overall, an excellent hotel and a good but not great restaurant. Old school service in a modern appointed hotel. Great location just two blocks from the Red and Blue light rail lines. No pool or spa (and it's $25.00 to get a day pass to the Hilton next door.)

Booked through Amex and got breakfast comp'd, $100.00 additional food/beverage credit, late check-out and $228.00/night for a Symphony Suite.

Tip: If you're not 6' 8" tall, be sure to get a chair to check the safe for valuables before you leave since it's bolted to the top shelf of the closet!

Room Tip: Upper floor, get one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear FamilyGuyLA

What a great review – thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is very important to us to make sure that every aspect of a guest’s stay is smooth and comfortable. We are pleased you enjoyed the separate “Pods” we have in lieu of a Front Desk. This does offer a bit more of a one on one experience for the guests and our knowledgeable and friendly Personal Concierge.

I apologize that the restaurant fell below expectations; we would welcome you back for Brunch, for another try, as we are renowned for our special dishes offered that time. We are glad that you were able to use the $100 credit from booking through American Express. That really is a great deal!

Thank you again for your time and feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was very nice, with great service. The staff was friendly and helpful in answering all of our questions. The hotel was close to the TriMet station at Pioneer Square which made it easy to get to from the airport. The room was clean and we had plenty of room.

Room Tip: Our room was a little dark as it faced an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear kg55_13

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Heathman Hotel. We strive to deliver the highest in customer service and are glad that you were able to experience this standard! The Hotel is lucky to be so close to the TriMet MAX, it really makes getting around town easier!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved the Heathman. We stayed there for a week in May. The weather was cool, rainy and cloudy for the most part, but despite that, we had a great time. We stayed in a Symphony Suite, which was spacious and quiet. We were given delicious ground coffee fresh everyday and a french press so it was great to have an early morning coffee. The service was seamless, from the concierge, to room service, to the on-site restaurant. Everyone at the hotel, and in Portland for that matter, was so laid back and friendly. The location was great...a few blocks from all sorts of wonderful restaurants (Higgins is about two blocks away, plus great sushi one block away, and two great seafood restaurants just blocks away). Tourist Information was close by, the symphony was next door, and a block of food carts was a few blocks away. The food at the Heathman Hotel restaurant was very good, and we had breakfast there every day. The waiter we had was very helpful and friendly, and even took some items off our bill as "his treat" when we were leaving. This is a first!! The Heathman is a quiet hotel, and very comfortable. In the late afternoon, during the week they offer local wine tastings in their library. We would definitely return there next time we go to Portland. Not one thing to complain about.

Room Tip: We liked our symphony suite as it had two rooms separated by a sliding door and was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MarissaVancouver,

Thank you for the spectacular review. I will share it with the whole team. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to explore so many great things about the Heathman and about Portland. Sorry to hear about the weather while you were here. I believe the best month of the whole year for weather in Portland is September. Maybe you can plan a return visit and come enjoy the truly wonderful weather that we do have this time of year. Thank you again for taking the time to submit your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location in downtown, arts, waterfront, shopping is perfection. All levels of service are great. I arrived with no bags (airline delay) and was 100% taken care of by all staff. This was a business trip and I stayed on a company rate, but there was no drop in service and I felt like I was their only guest.

Food is very good. Drinks are great and the bartenders will chit chat with you, everyone at was great.

Room was very nice, and as I spend more time in hotel than at home, I know of what I speak. The bed was better than the Temperpedic Ergo I have at home. Plenty of plush towels. Turn down service, is great, they re-fresh your room as well.

The Heathman will be my go to hotel in Portland Always!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Buckles TX,

It is wonderful to hear you felt so taken care of while you were at the Heathman. That is our goal with every guest. Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heathman Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heathman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.