We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark wood, chandeliers and history abound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Dark wood, chandeliers and history abound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Heathman is a perfectly located hotel for sight seeing, but that is only one reason to stay here. The warmth, service and beautifully decorated rooms are more reasons to stay. i felt like I had stopped back in another era more gracious than this one. We had a gorgeous suite - the Renaissance Room - not that large, but on a quiet corner with two bathrooms. Divine. The furnishings were gorgeous, the bed very comfy. This is an intimate hotel, but due to its age you have to be careful which room you book. Some can be noisy. Get a corner suite and you will be happy. Our car was always delivered promptly when we called for it, umbrellas were always handed to us, water offered, and this was only to go 5 blocks. Great service. Eclectic group of people stay here. Everything from dowagers to rock stars. Being surrounded as the hotel is by the Performing Arts Center, I am sure they must get their share of stars.
We would certainly stay here again when in Portland. They have a wonderful jazz singer, Linda Lee Michelet on one Saturday a month. And the food is delicious - pricey but worth it. For those of you who read "Fifty Shades of Gray" do not look for Christian's suite here as it does not exist. Brought the hotel a lot of business though. :-))

Room Tip: Corner suite - Renaissance room. We had 502. Any of the "02" rooms would work. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jean H,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. We have a great staff here and they truly love our guests. I am glad you enjoyed the jazz performance as well. Thank you for pointing out what great guests we have staying with us. It is the best part of our day. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portland.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    254
    76
    40
    17
See reviews for
191
489
64
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were a group of five: two seniors, a young married couple and their 3 year old child. So that was quite a range to accommodate - but the hotel provided a terrific stay for all of us. The Heathman is very conveniently located, for sightseeing and for business trips. The roooms are modern and comfortable, with free WiFi, free water bottles replenished every day, plenty of electrical outlets, and free optional turn down service at night. While the bathrooms are small, they are exquisitely done with beautiful fixtures and lighting. The lounge is an impeccably maintained wood paneled area, and serves a wonderful English afternoon tea. The library is a great space to be by oneself - quiet, terrific choice of books, and comfortable chairs. The staff is very friendly, anxious and able to help with any questions or services that are needed. Definitely would stay here again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear JLandisNYC,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am so thrilled to hear you will be recommending us to all. That is the biggest compliment we can get. It is great that everyone in your party found our hotel comfortable and you were able to relax and take in the beautiful sites of Portland. We look forward to seeing again.
Best wishes,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I worked with the Heathman to lodge 45 speakers for our event. They worked tirelessly to get the rooms right, despite speakers changing their schedules last minute, and communicated with me every step of the way. PLUS each and every speaker commented to me on the wonderful hotel accommodations, I'd say that makes this hotel outstanding from every standpoint!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer J,

We are so thrilled to hear your group event went so well. We enjoyed having all of you. We look forward to working to ensure your group has another successful stay at our hotel for your next meeting.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was certainly a nice hotel, the location was wonderful, the staff was nice - but it was not quite as "plush" as I expected. The valet service was great. The "spa" leaves a bit to be desired. The noise from the neighboring rooms was very annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Katharine T,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. I am sorry that you had some noise issues from the rooms around you. Please notify us right away if that happens in the future, we will try to correct the situation right away. I would like to talk to you a bit more about the comment you left about the “spa” services. We unfortunately do not have a spa on property. If you are referring to a third party spa service provider I would like to hear about your experience. We only want to refer our guests to the best service providers. Please feel free to contact me anytime to discuss this further.

Thank you,

Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg Va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife & I recently spent 2 nights at the Heathman for our son's wedding. The Heathman is a historic hotel & a member of the Historic Inns Of America. We totally enjoyed our stay, The service & staff are very good. The food is excellent .The hotel is in a great location. If you are a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation you qualify for excellent , special member rates via the web. If you like wonderful, old hotels, I'd check out the Heathman Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Travel178,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel so much. We are proud to be a member of Historic Hotels of America; they have a wonderful collection of hotels. We will see you next time you are in Portland.

Best wishes,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to Portland for a special occasion and called The Heathman - and spoke with Conley Phelps (a concierge at the hotel) who helped us select rooms and assured us of a good stay. When we checked in, each of our rooms was handed an envelope indicating that we would be receiving complimentary continental breakfast each day of our stay. We are members of IPrefer and IPrefer members get upgrades based on availability. When we spoke with the hotel upon making reservations, we indicated that we booked just the rooms we were hoping for and wouldn't need an upgrade. We didn't know that breakfast would be included, but we thought perhaps that was offered in place of the room upgrade. In any event, we made it a point of eating breakfast at the hotel every morning since we had the complimentary breakfast. We asked the front desk if we could order a full breakfast from their menu, and they indicated that we could and we would receive a credit based on the cost of the continental breakfast (I.e. partial credit). They said that the credit would be posted to the final bill upon checkout. We saw our final bill and didn't think the breakfast credit had been deducted, but the checkout lady said they had - so we left it at that. Upon returning home, we checked each of our breakfast tabs and found that nothing had, in fact, been deducted. We called hotel and they promised to issue the credits. The hotel did issue some of the credits, but in the end, they had still not issued over $100.00 of the credits. We have called the hotel numerous times and each time they assure us that it will be taken care of. The final time we called, they promised the manager would look into it and call us back. When they did call back, they indicated they would not issue any more credit because we were never supposed to get the free breakfast in the first place. A quality establishment would not give you a letter indicating you will receive free breakfast, then later say, "We won't actually give you those free breakfasts because you weren't supposed to get them in the first place." If they made a mistake in offering it, and we ate breakfast there EACH morning relying on that offer, a quality hotel would FULLY honor it because the mistake was theirs in letting us know that we had a promotion and then failing to fully honor it. We certainly would not return if we make a subsequent trip to Portland. Conley, who had arranged everything for us, was no longer working at The Heathman when we arrived. So if it was her intent to offer us the free breakfasts, the word must not have gotten passed on to whoever took over her position with the hotel.

Regarding the hotel, the rooms were well furnished and they had high quality shampoos and conditioners. They provide freshly roasted coffee in the morning - which was very good. If it were not for our poor experience with their customer service, we would have been happy to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear SSJ83,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with the breakfast credits. I would love the chance to discuss this matter with you further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and I am sure we can get this resolved right away.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the hotel and your guest room; I am sorry this misunderstanding with the credits overshadowed the rest of your stay. I hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
503-241-4100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The Heathman is one of my usual hotels in Portland. The hotel is quaint and has good service. The gym is small, but serviceable. I have always been a bit surprised by the complimentary ear plugs on the night stand. Unfortunately, this stay, I found out why they are handed out. The noise from my neighbors was extremely disruptive (and I am a heavy sleeper).

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear YGlobalTraveler,
It is great to hear you enjoy the hotel and service so much. I am sorry to hear about the noisy neighbors you had on your last visit. Please feel free to contact the front desk if this occurs on your next stay, we will do our best to ensure that you are able to rest while you are here. We want every guest to leave here well rested. Please contact me if you would like to discuss this matter further. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Best regards,
Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heathman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heathman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.