We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality (except for WiFi)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% off with AAA
Ranked #4 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High Quality (except for WiFi)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just completed a 3 night stay. Large, quiet room. Comfortable bed. Excellent service at front desk, with valet parking and in the room. Convenient location near entertainment and shopping. Only complaint was awful wifi service. Advertised as free (which is good because I HATE to pay for internet) but only free at very weak signal strength. Upgraded service available for additional cost. I could read my emails (barely) but load no other apps (and I wasn't trying to use video). Couldn't read my newspapers online. One night service was completely down. Hotel needs to improve this service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear txhawki,

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the service and your guest room. It sounds like your overall stay was a positive one. I do apologize that you had some issues with the internet connection in your room. I am surprised to hear that; the hotel recently had a complete overhaul of our internet connections and service. We very rarely get a complaint about the speed since this upgrade. Unfortunately the evening the service was down completely was due to a city wide outage of the service provider. I do apologize that you had these inconveniences during your stay. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss this matter further. We do hope to see you on your next visit to Portland.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    239
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
179
453
59
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel goes Bose and beyond in their services. To say they are bringing something back to travel that is missing is an understatement. EVERY person working there was exceptional and I would no doubt go back and have told everyone about my time there. Too bad it's only in Portland...

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional mine faced the downtown area but sound proofing was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear pcain13,

Wow, thank you very much for the great review. I love that you feel like every person working here is so great. I am so proud of our team and the service they provide our guests. Thank you for telling everyone about your time here, we appreciate you spreading the word about us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went to Portland to celebrate an upcoming birthday for the weekend, and lucked out staying at this hotel. It is in a great section of downtown, about 2 blocks from Pioneer Square, but of course everything is walkable in Portland. The room was clean, and spacious (2 doubles) for a smaller historic hotel. They even had turn down service, complete with ear plugs and eye covers. I was shocked, I haven't seen that in years. The towels were big and soft, not the usual hotel towels, these were great. The service of everyone working there was unbelievable, I typically never see this service and they are very happy to help you out with whatever you need. I will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. I just need to schedule another trip!!!!!

Room Tip: The double room is much bigger than the king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jkinney4,

What a wonderful review, thank you for leaving such kind comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our linen. We take pride in offering top notch linen and amenities for our guests. The staff is the best around and truly love assisting our guests. I am happy to know it shows through their service. Let me know if we can assist you with planning your next trip to Heathman Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Attention to detail is an understatement, from reservation through check out we were truly impressed with each and every staff person. There is only one other hotel in the world where we experienced similar service (the Observatory in Sydney). We had two rooms for three nights so had a real exposure. My advise...(and I stayed at many of the other Portland hotels)book immediately at the Heathman and don't miss dining there as well. Amazing. For breakfast make sure you order scones. Yum. Now attention to detail, let me share a story. We were celebrating a couple of birthdays and had cake. My granddaughter asked to have 6 plates and a sharp knife sent to our room. The person she asked in lobby was different than person who delivered but he said to her...here is your sharp knife. The doorman in talking to our grandson as he was carrying in his new computer told him he knew he was getting a computer for his bday. I asked him to be careful of the computer 2 days earlier when unloading our car. I was amazed. One small comment and he still remembered us.

Room Tip: The double rooms are more spacious than kings especially the bathroom area. But it s a historic hote...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. The leftover food policy (donation) is appreciated as one walks through the more challenging areas of Portland
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear qsmamo,

The staff enjoyed getting to know you and your family while you were here. We are thrilled that your special weekend was great. Thank you for taking the time to submit such a kind review. Hopefully you can make this an annual tradition and we will get to see you for the next birthday celebration. Thank you again.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Talk about service! The staff at the Heathman Hotel know how to treat their guests. Impeccable customer service, fantastic food would be an understatement, and an overall concern for the experience their guests are having.
Thank you for helping us achieve a very successful meeting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Becky K,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. We are so happy that you had a successful meeting and a great stay. We look forward seeing you on your next trip to Portland.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmuir, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice place to have dinner. The menu is delicious, with a nice variety, and the ambiance is unsurpassed. To really top off the stay, if you are visiting from out of town, or if you live in the area, and want to treat yourself, stay in one of the very comfortable rooms. Some have fireplaces, and some have jacuzzi tubs, if you really want to go big! They also, with prior arrangement, have a massage therapist, that will come to your room. They have a good location, next to other great restaurants, and shopping. Made it a point to check out the Heathman, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rea_12,

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate hearing your comments and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience. Our restaurant is fabulous and hopefully next time you are staying with us you can listen to some great live Jazz in our Tea Court Lounge. We do offer great in room spa services as you mentioned. You can check out our menu on line or ask one of our knowledgeable concierge staff on your next visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have, over several years, engaged the Heathman for a small wedding venue, holiday high teas, and happy hours in the bar. Each experience has been most gratifying and full of value. Most recently we've used the happy hour bar location as our "touch base" before theatre, concert, or shopping outings. Thanks, Heathman, for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear John L,

We feel so honored to have been a part of so many great special events. Thank you for sharing them with us. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heathman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heathman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.