We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels in Portland (Kirkland too). The staff is very helpful and the rooms are perfect. The art work throughout the hotel is lovely and the location is right in the center of town. I will be back!

Room Tip: From room 911 you can see a beautiful mural. The suites on the 7th floor were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Robin W,
I am so happy to learn you had such a lovely stay at our hotel and that you had a chance to visit our location in Kirkland as well. We look forward to seeing on your next visit to Portland. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Heathman just to get away for an evening . Everyone was friendly and efficient. We got personal service when we checked in although a large group was checking in at the same time. The atmosphere was relaxing, and the Christmas decorations added to the ambiance. I enjoyed viewing the art work throughout the hotel and the glass work was amazing.My wife is a true bookworm and she spent a considerable amount of time in the library.The bed was so comfortable, that although we had to be somewhere in the morning, we didn't want to get out of bed! Our room was clean and I personally liked the extra sink so we could both use the bathroom at the same time.We look forward to another night away and recommended The Heathman to out of town guests who are coming for a Holiday Show.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Ronald C,

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how relaxed you felt. I am thrilled you had a chance to visit our library during your visit. We are so proud to be able to offer viewings of this special collection. I appreciate you taking a few minutes to share your comments. Please feel free to contact me when you are ready for your next get away. I would be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

From the friendly, welcoming staff, to the gracious lobby and large, well-appointed and updated room, our experience at The Heathman in Portland was fabulous. I love the historical and classic aspects of this hotel but appreciate the modern updates and conveniences in our light-filled room (our bathrooms -- yes, we had two -- were wonderful!) Enjoyed in-room, freshly ground french-pressed coffee each morning, and our car was always promptly brought around. The location is wonderful -- close to performing arts centers, coffee shops, tons of restaurants and shopping galore. We enjoyed a cozy drink and live music in the hotel bar, which had been tastefully decorated for the holidays. Definitely recommend, and we'll definitely be returning. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tracy S,

Thank you for the great review. It sounds like you stayed in one of our lovely Renaissance suites. That is one of my favorite suites in the hotel. We have 4 newly renovated signature suites in the hotel as well. Each of these suites has a different theme and is spectacular. Hopefully you can try one of those on your next stay. You will not be disappointed. We look forward to having you as our guest soon. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.

Thank you,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Heathman has become where we stay in downtown Portland over the past three trips. The staff anticipate the guest's needs and are uniformly friendly and responsive. The rooms are wonderfully appointed, conveying an understated yet distinctive and artistic luxury. The food is excellent and the restaurant, bar, and lobby reflect consistent attention to creating elegant and personal guest experiences. The jazz in the lobby is great and the hotel nourishes its historical and artistic heritage, and its location near museums and the symphony hall, in its decor and sensibility.

Room Tip: The symphony suites are wonderfully harmonic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Bob L,

Thank you for the glowing review. The staff does put every effort into anticipating our guests needs prior to arrival. I am happy to know you felt well taken care of and enjoyed the history of our building and surrounding neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was down in Portland for a girl's getaway and we had decided to stay at the Healthman based on other friends' recommendations and we were not disappointed!

After looking at pictures of the hotel on the website and Trip Advisor it looked a little dated, but the pictures do not do it justice. The property is beautiful and the staff perfectly attentive.

We had drinks and some snacks in their lounge as well which is beautifully decorated and had a relaxing ambiance.

The location itself is really amazing, just a short few blocks from lots of shopping and great food! Just ask the staff at the desk, they are so incredibly friendly and happy to make recommendations from where to get a good cup of joe, to where to go for excellent happy hour drinks.

Portland also as a city, is so incredibly friendly and relaxed. Loved my stay and will definately return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear D N,

I am so happy to hear you had such a lovely girl’s getaway. It is great to know that the staff treated you so well and helped you plan your special weekend. I will pass these great comments on to the team. The Heathman would love to host your next girl’s getaway. Hopefully you can make it an annual tradition. We have some fun packages listed on our website also. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

By far one of the best hotels that I have stayed in. This was my first visit to Portland (business) and I wanted to stay at the best, so I chose The Heathman. I was not disappointed! The staff is so friendly and service oriented. From the front desk to the bellman to the housekeeping staff. All so friendly! The rooms are beautiful and clean. The lounge is heavenly---so cozy and decorated so beautifully for Christmas. The servers in the lounge were very knowledgeable about the wine selections. The food was great! I didn't want to leave. Highly recommended The Heathman to Portland travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Vicki F,

I am so honored that we had a part in making your first trip to Portland such a great one. Our hotel is so beautifully decorated this time of year for the holidays. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and were able to relax even though you were here on business. I hope you can return and enjoy a leisure weekend sometime soon. Thank you for the great review.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colman, SD
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Great service, wonderful rooms, excellent food and a all around great stay!!! This will be where we stay when we go back! The concierge was so helpful finding us place to eat & go that weren't on the beaten path!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gena_veen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear gena_veen,

It is wonderful to hear you had such a positive experience while you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We hope to see you very soon for another great weekend in Portland.

Thank you,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 134 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 134 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing