We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% off with AAA
Ranked #4 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked through hotwire so i got a pretty good deal. The staff there is really wonderful and helpful. They are the nicest hotel staff that I have encountered in a long time. The room is somewhat renovated, but still keeping the style that it tries to achieve. Everything did feel somewhat cramped, but the fact that the staff is so wonderful and that the location is really central, you cannot ask for more. The room is very clean and quiet. I really really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Administrative Assistant at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Booklust,

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Heathman Hotel. We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

As you mentioned, we are a historic property and are driven to keep traditional style alive, whilst also moving forward. The Heathman is where tradition meets innovation. This does leave some of the rooms a bit smaller than modern hotels. All that said we look forward to welcoming you back and would be happy to show you some other room types to make sure we find the one that fits best.

Kind and sincere regards,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    239
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
181
453
59
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed at The Heathman with my wife this past weekend and felt compelled to write a balanced review of this hotel. While the staff and service was excellent from the doorman to the maids, the rooms left something to be desired. We booked this hotel through Priceline at a rate of $130 for the night (normal rate $250/night) I recommend booking your stay through Priceline, as anywhere from $110-$160/night would be an appropriate price. We stayed in room 310 which had a nice view of the street below, however the room was small and a tad dated. The bed was very comfortable and nourishing after a night of living it up, I have to give some credit for that…but it’s the small things: Cabinet doors didn’t shut all the way, closet doors were difficult to open/close, very expensive minibar. The important things: The bathroom was very small and with two people getting ready to go out was difficult to say the least. The bathroom door opens and is about 6-8 inches from the bathroom sink. Great hotel for a one-night stay that is in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Administrative Assistant at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. It is always wonderful to hear such great comments about the staff! I am sorry to hear that some of our services feel short of expectations but we are appreciative of your perspective. The Heathman is a unique historic property and we strive to evoke the era that the hotel was created, as we are one of the few remaining properties in Portland from this time. We have put individual thought into every guest room and all the public areas. All that said every space is different and we apologize that your room was not quite big enough. We would look forward to welcoming you back and giving you a tour of some different room types, so that we can find the one that suits best. Thank you for bringing this review to our attention, if you plan to come back to the Heathman please feel free to contact me personally – I would welcome the chance to personally ensure your stay is perfect.

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We took a weekend trip to Portland with friends for no particular reason, and they suggested the historic Heathman. When I made our reservations, I thought it was a little pricey, but it wasn't for the level of enjoyment we got. This would be a great place to stay to enjoy Portland's cultural offerings or for business. The staff was extremely accommodating, the restaurant was excellent and the rooms were comfortable, though not spacious. I liked a couple of extra touches like the light around the bathroom mirror that served as a nightlight. The hotel also has a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable concierge, who helped us find the best way to get to places of interest,

Friday and Saturday nights, they had jazz in the lounge, so we had no need to go hunting for entertainment. During the day, we visited a great hat store, John Helmer's, on the next corner. (Bring money--the sales people are very helpful and the temptations are many.) We also went to the Saturday Market, Voodoo Donuts and the Chinese Garden. I enjoy Portland because of its good public transportation, and a main hub is just a couple of blocks from the Heathman. Although I've lived in the Northwest most of my life and I've been to Portland many times, it's always been for a purpose, and not as a tourist, so we had a great time with the Heathman as our base.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Yabiman,

Thank you for taking the time to share these reviews. Portland is such a beautiful, cultural and relaxing city and it is such a treat to explore! I’m so pleased to hear that you chose the Heathman and that our service was splendid and our hospitality was spot on.
We take pride in providing top class service and it is always so nice to see that reflected in our guest reviews, I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience of working with them.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review – we look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
The Heathman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet downtown location - double-paned windows and ear plugs provided for those that are more sensitive. Bathrooms small, but nicely done. Staff was remarkable, very courteous and excellent service. Unlikely there is a better location in downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear aspen5,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Heathman. We are very pleased that you found our rooms comfortable and quiet as this is a service that we endeavor to deliver. As you have mentioned we have a wonderful front desk staff – always eager to assist – and I am glad that you were able to experience their hospitality. I hope that you will return to the Heathman in the future, as we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
The Heathman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently traveled to Portland for business and we stayed at the Heathman. The staff was fantastic, the restaurant was lovely, and the rooms we very comfortable. The in-room amenities were very nice, and the turn down service always left a fresh bottle of water by the bed.
There was always a staff person at the desk to answer questions, and they were most helpful with food and shopping recommendations - when we asked to have a reservation made for lunch at a nearby restaurant, the front desk sent over an an appetizer for our party! Just top of the line, can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Administrative Assistant at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear coffeebeanVermont,

Thank you for taking the time to record these positive comments in regards to your recent visit to the Heathman. As you have mentioned we have a wonderful front desk staff – always eager to assist! I’m delighted that you enjoyed your time in Portland; it is excellent to read your experience. I hope that you will find another occasion to return to the Heathman – we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have stayed at many of the nicer properties in Portland for business over the years but nothing surpasses the location and service at this hotel - nothing. Will stop trying out the others and stay here from now on. Great restaurant to boot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Kelleyanne,

Thank you for your kind reviews, I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us!
We take pride in providing top class service and it is always so nice to see that reflected in our guest reviews. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review – we look forward to having you as a guest in the future. When you plan to come back to the Heathman please feel free to contact me personally – I would welcome the chance to personally ensure your stay is perfect! Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of Portland so easy for local restaurants and shopping. The staff was very welcoming and the rooms spacious and clean. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the main road but it was very quite so not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear honeyblueelephant,

I am so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us! We appreciate your kind reviews and point of view. I’m glad that your room was pleasant, as well. We are a city center hotel and experience the sounds of such a location, but strive to keep the rooms as quiet as can be, so pleased you made mention of this.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review – we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heathman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heathman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.