We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, Great Location, and Pet Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel, Great Location, and Pet Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The RiverPlace Hotel is perfectly located on the river, with great views, right next to great little shops and restaurants, and right on a long beautiful park that runs along the river. The park is perfect for morning runs. They even have a library of DVDs they loan out and DVD players in the rooms

We've stayed at RiverPlace several times, but this is the first time our travel plans included our two new puppies. I was searching the web looking for pet friendly hotels in Portland, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover that RiverPlace was pet friendly.

Our experience was outstanding as usual, and the extra attention they gave the dogs, from food and water bowls and treats in the room, to poo bags at the front desk when we realized we'd left ours in the car, to the offer of petsitting while we went out to dinner, made this a perfect experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    890
    126
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
195
486
57
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The Riverplace is in the perfect location. Very close to everything, but right on the river, and does not feel like a "Downtown" business hotel. I stayed just for the night, but did order room service - which was prompt & excellent - and spent some time in the bar with friends. The staff was also very friendly and efficient. I will definitely stay here again when back in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We are supposed to be waking up for the second day, and Mother's Day, at the River Place hotel; we are not there. Here is what happened. Arrived at River Place around 8:30 pm. Checked in with our reservation for a one bedroom. Valet was great and efficient.
Would retrain front desk to tell people 500’s not in the main building before watching them board elevators with the luggage rack only to have to come down and take everything in hand to hike over to the next building.(The next day in the main building’s elevator two women who had just checked in and were on their way to look for the 5th floor, and asked us how to get to fifth floor; having also not been told it is in a separate building and you have to carry your own luggage because the cart won't roll over there).
OK so we find 511, unlock and open the door and get a spray of black mold. The bottom tray on the front door is filled with mold as is the air, carpet and flooring-you can see the furry mold in many places inside and out on the balcony. There seemed to have been a flood there and not cleaned up properly, within ten minutes we all had symptoms of mold. We hoped it just needed Lysol. Off to the local Fred Meyers, coming home with $120 worth of groceries/bleach wipes.
The condo has a beautiful kitchen I was looking forward to cooking in. We turned on kitchen light- ANTS, ANTS EVERYWHERE in the kitchen. We are world photographers/ travelers, and have dealt with creatures of all kinds in Australia, Europe, Hawaii, Great Britain, etc. and had it just been ants that was one thing, but both things told us this apartment/condo had not had attention in some time.
Dan from the staff came over and moved us- the bright spot in a terrible night. Thank you Dan. After throwing out the refrigerated items( that needed to be cooked the next morning) in the sink of the condo we ended up in two very nice rooms in the hotel.
We had been told when we arrived ,” Yes your “bed and breakfast” package does include breakfast Sat. but since you have no reservations in the restaurant you cannot eat at the Mother's Day Brunch”; that had been another reason for booking this “bed and breakfast” package and now we are not allowed to eat breakfast? It was not stated that the Three Degrees restaurant was full and that the Bed and Breakfast package would not be honored on Sunday, Mother’s Day, on their website
OK here is where I think they are #1- backpedaling and customer service, after the fact. We were comped the rooms for the trouble and we did not stay the second night although General Manager(I think that is his title) left my husband his business card at the front desk and said next time we book we will be "taken care of" by him.
Stephanie and other front desk staff need to tell people 500s are in other building and spend as much time giving directions as they do telling people not to smoke and where the smoking areas are-we do not smoke and said so before having to hear all the bad things that would befall us should we light up. A paper map would be helpful also; we were told there were none and we could remember the directions.
For $444 a night it should be clean and not moldy and when you sell it as a “bed and breakfast” package you should allow the people buying that package to eat in the restaurant as stated in the package-had we stayed there again last night we would not have had breakfast at the hotel as purchased. It does not state anywhere on the website that people need to have SEPARATE reservations for the Mother’s Day brunch as hotel guests purchasing the bed and breakfast packages.
Advice to people with Allergies- stay away from 511 and hallways inside the hotel, and to everyone that is not told by the front desk the 500's are next to the hotel and they have you take your own luggage and they do not allow you to use the luggage rack-thanks again to Dan who hauled our luggage, and some of the groceries we had just purchased, over to the hotel rooms.
Stay in the main hotel -we were on the second floor and we can say those two rooms were great. Taking care of customers on the back end is one thing but to provide knowledgeable people at the front desk is essential, and correction on the website would help others, one that says that you can book a “bed and breakfast” package but at Mother’s Day you will not be able to have your purchase honored at the restaurant.
We did get to take photos, which we came to do. Got to Voodoo doughnuts, several markets around town, and it was with the $ saved at the hotel we went and bought Family membership to OMSI and saw the showing of "stars". And within 28 hours of leaving we were back home again. Life is an adventure and if you go with no expectations you will never be disappointed, fortunately we were not disappointed, we simply changed our plans and canceled the second night. We made it a great time and look forward to visiting Portland this summer. What an adventure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I can't add much to the other great reviews of the RiverPlace Hotel other than to ditto them. I loved the lobby, the room, the staff, and the restaurant. This and the Hotel Deluxe are my two favorite hotels in Portland, a city I lived in for many years, and still visit quite often.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I actually live in Portland but on the other side of the river. My husband and I stayed here with friends who were visiting from out of town and we wanted to be closer to Downtown. To start, both parties were upgrades to a Jr Suites with a view; which was fantastic! The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom was a great size. We mentioned we made dinner reservations for my Birthday at Andina and we were running late. The concierge contacted Andina to let them know so we did not loose our table. At the end of the meal, I not only received desert for my birthday, but a plate of cookies and glasses of desert wine came for the entire table with compliments from the concierge. We were surprised as we did not tell Andina I was there for my birthday. We used the free streetcar to get around and it was convenient to the Cirque de Soleil tent. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends coming to visit us in Portland. It was nice to see how a visitor feels in Portland...I can see why this hotel ranks so high.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We visit Portland regularly, and we have stayed at the RiverPlace Hotel many times. We continue to be please with the professionalism and courtesy of the staff, the cleanliness and quality of the rooms, and the convenient location of the hotel. From the the moment we drop off our car with the valet until the moment we pick it up to leave, our experience has always been excellent.

The fireplace suites are great in the cooler months, and the parlor suites overlooking the interior courtyard are wonderful for an extremely quiet night of restful sleep!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The RiverPlace Hotel, by WaterFront Park, has a fine view of the Willamette River, and offers excellent rooms and service by the hotel staff. They are friendly and efficient, and very good about providing what we as guests needed. The room was as comfortable as we could imagine it, quiet and well-appointed. The location is beautiful and very near restaurants and some shops. One would need to walk a distance or take one's car to get to "downtown" Portland, but RiverPlace Hotel was perfectly convenient for our needs. We will stay here again when next we visit Portland.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.