We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Hotel. Deserves the Ratings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 10% Off!
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Hotel. Deserves the Ratings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Riverplace exceeded our expectations by a wide margin. We had a residential suite in the adjoining building facing the river. It was spacious, well decorated and furnished.
Hotel service is excellent, very friendly and accomodating.
The food at Three Degrees was good, but unlike other reviewers, the food delivery was extremely slow. Not the fault of the servers, who were very good, but the kitchen could not keep up. One of out "tapas" dishes never arrived, so we cancelled it. Later when we returned to our room, the restaurant management had delivered a bottle of wine and chocolate truffles with a note of apology. Very impressive.
Excellent restaurant recommendations from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    158
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
235
582
64
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My honey and I eloped to Portland and found RiverPlace online. We loved the river front location and couldn't find any other hotel that was so central and so close to the water. We were so pleased with the view and we could walk everywhere.
The room was extremely clean and well outfitted. The free Wifi was essential since I am in the midst of online classes. The fact that all the business services were free is unheard of anyplace else I've stayed.
The food at 3 Degrees was amazing. Generally we eat in hotel restaurants as a last resort, but the breakfast we had was unbelievably good. I wish we had a chance for other meals.
We weren't super excited about the bed and pillows. The pillows were too soft and you could order others, but none that we wanted. The bathroom was great, lots of storage and the L'Occitaine amenities all smelled like fresh lemons.
The only thing I would do different if I went back is get a room with a water view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

This hotel is right on the River and is very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

First and foremost, the service at RiverPlace was second-to-none; absolutely exceeded expectations! The location would be difficult to top in Portland and it is highly convenient. The food and service at Three Degrees restaurent were also the best. Finally, the rooms are impeccably furnished and finished. I would highly recommend this hotel over any other in the Portland area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed here 4 nights with our 3 infants. We stayed in their one bed residential suite and it was so worth it! Our folks and family had rooms in the hotel and would come to our place as the gathering point. The suite does have it all and the w/d was key! Plus, they helped us with a car rental and it was so convenient as it was all at the hotel. Location is perfect, water view, good food in the restaurant as we held a big dinner there and it was perfect. We could even bring our own wine for a corkage fee. This is a great place whether you want a central place to stay that gives great service or if like us there is a few groups of you. We have stayed at a lot of hotels and this by far shined, service, service service! Quick to take care of you which is just what you love when you are on vacation, right? Look forward to doing this trip again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Sitting between the river and the city, alongside a lush strip of river-front parkland, the RiverPlace Hotel is smaller in stature, but huge in personality. The room was quiet, spacious, very clean and well suited to a weekend away. The restaurant and bar were both of a high quality, but the best thing about the place was the people. The staff were very friendly, attentive and accommodating -- more than once, different staff members went out of their way to help us, or just stop to say hello, remembering us from earlier encounters. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONOLULU
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Overall excellent experience. All staff were warm and welcoming. Felt like home. We had a parlor suite that was perfect for us. Housekeeping was stealth. We checked in, went out for a walk and came back to find the sofabed had been made up and king bed turned down. Second day, went down to Three Degrees restaurant for bkfst (highly recommend) and room was made up when we got back.
Bathroom recently renovated, loved the deep soaker tub and shower. Nice granite vanity and loved the heat lamp. Nice touches, bathrobes and umbrella for our use. Bed and pillows soft and comfy. We'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.