We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Few Days in Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing Few Days in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed several nights here in late June this year. Our room was really lovely, very clean, comfortable with a great king sized bed. We had just returned from a long stay in Belize, and it was really refreshing to be able to relax and unwind at the hotel. The room had a well stocked mini-bar and a selection of snacks, and it had very good wi-fi. The hotel breakfast in the riverside lounge was fabulous, with really friendly and quick service. I spent one rainy morning working in the comfortable hotel lounge which looked out onto the river, and had regular refills of hot coffee. It was quiet, relaxed and comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are spending a few days in Portland and are looking for some peace and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Wow that does sound relaxing! Your review reminded me of how special our location really is. I sometimes take it for granted but not today. I'm going to make it a point to get out of my windowless office today and work from one of those rocking chairs that overlooks the Willamette.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    146
    36
    8
    10
See reviews for
214
535
62
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé surprised me with a weekend here on my birthday. We live in the area but got 'away' for the 4th of July weekend. When he told me, I called Kimpton immediately, as I had a 20% off discount in my email from Kimpton sent to me that day. The woman from RiverPlace apologized, that being a holiday weekend those dates were blocked out from the deal.

It didn't matter.

They knew it was my birthday weekend and they knew it was our anniversary month. When we arrived our room had been upgraded, and a bottle of champagne and two red velvet cupcakes with candles were waiting for us with a handwritten card when we got to our room.

As if that was not enough.

The celebrations and extras were many! Fourth of July presented a table of beautiful treats for families and couples alike. The hour wine and beer is served, so is popcorn. Oh yes, and chocolate chip cookies too! The second evening the hour was hosted outside, and my fiancé tried his first s'more.

The services absolutely fantastic, and it was such a busy weekend with the blues festival going on at the river's park. We met so many nice people and everyone seemed very happy with their stays!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
What an exciting time to be staying with us. Not only were you celebrating your birthday and anniversary but you and your husband got to enjoy all of the 4th of July events that happen in and around the hotel. So glad you loved the experience.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Riverplace Hotel based on the overwhelming number of 5 star TripAdvisor reviews. This was our first trip to Portland so I don't have another local hotel for a direct comparison. My rating is based on my experience from other 5 star properties and the associated value.

We stayed at the Riverplace for 3 nights.

The hotel has many good things to offer: 1) great location on the river; there are plenty of places to eat within a few feet of the hotel and downtown is just a short walk away; 2) excellent hotel staff - both at the front desk and guys working the front door; everyone was always friendly and helpful; 3) free bicycles available to tour the city - bikes were generally in good condition, tires could use some air but otherwise fairly nice bikes. 4) clean rooms - always a big plus in my book.

Based on the above, I would have rated the hotel 4 stars. The offsetting factors that lowered my overall rating were the following: 1) there is nothing grand about the hotel - the lobby is average and the hotel rooms are average, there was really nothing to differentiate it as a 5 star property; 2) the hotel and rooms are a bit dated and tired looking - the bed was comfortable but the furnishings were bulky and didn't fit the room. 3) room was above average on the noise level - you could hear people talking as they were walking along the river way below and there was noticeable traffic noise from the bridge across the river.

Other things that I consider a nuisance and distraction: 1) no free wifi unless you are a kimpton member otherwise it's 12.95 a day; 2) valet parking is $31/day - service to retrieve the car was a bit slow - friendly but slow - I didn't expect to park for free but it seemed a bit much for the city.

Based on everything above and when you consider that we paid +$400 night overall(excluding food) - I was expecting more from this hotel. I have been fortunate to stay in other 5 star properties in different countries over the years, unfortunately the Riverplace just didn't meet my expectations of a 5 star property - it's a nice place but value-wise, it's only 3 stars.

I would definitely try a different hotel if I make it back to Portland.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms have a great view but you can hear the street noise from below and traffic noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. To be honest I do not consider our hotel a 5 star property. I feel we certainly provide 5 star standards of service but when I think of 5 star hotels I think of marble everywhere, huge chandeliers, and valets with white gloves. That is really not who we are or what we are trying to be. I feel the RiverPlace offers a style of service that compliments the friendly Portland culture and the comfortable setting of our hotel and location. I hope this helps other readers of your review and those looking to chose a hotel in Portland a better understanding of what to expect. Thank you again for staying with us and providing your feedback on your experience.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

In researching a place to stay in PDX, "great service"" was the key phrase that came up on almost every TA review of RiverPlace. Well, it turns out to be accurate and hard earned. The service really was superb. Nice doorman, helpful check in folks, free use of the hotel bikes and just friendly folks made this a lovely stay.

We were exploring PDX for the first time and like the first time in any new, exciting city, its a bit daunting to get situated and to formulate a plan of attack. RP's location turned out to be ideal to explore both sides of the river, from Hawthorne to Nob Hill on bikes and even over to Hood River via car. If you know you want to be in a specific area of town, a more provincial choice may win out, but for a non-committal (central) choice, RP was ideal.

We had some meals (a breakfast and a lunch) in the restaurant - the food was good and again, the service was friendly and helpful. We even had to get some laundry done after I face planted in some mud and the service was, well...you get the idea.

For a few ideas on exploring PDX, the two neighborhoods I mention above both warrant several hours of shopping and hanging out. It is a good place to ride a bike once you figure out how the roads that are set up for bikes (not all are, but you can get anywhere on good bike routes). I rate some other places separately if you are interested in the specifics of some of our favorite places.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in P-town..... I have stayed here at least a dozen times. Located right on the water, this hotel is situated on the edge of town, overlooking the river. The quality of service is unparalleled; the entire staff seem to truly love what they do.
If you get a chance, go out the back doors and walk along the river, it's so beautiful.
Inside, the rooms are spectacularly decorated and offer supreme comfort. I really like the yoga equipment they provide in the rooms ^_^
I do not own a dog, but I am an animal lover, so knowing this place is pet friendly warms my heart.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here with by husband for one night on the first of our Oregon road trip. Unfortunately we spent less than half a day here due to a last minute flight cancellation by United and being given a beater car (bad brakes, headlight out, etc.) by Avis that we had to return. We arrived late and were greeted at the door by the valet parker. Check in was smooth and we were upgraded to a River view one bedroom suite. This would be ideal if you are staying for a while. It had all the bells and whistles. Kitchen, dishwasher, laundry, fireplace, small balcony on the marina and a very comfortable bedroom. The view of the marina from our particular suite was blocked by trees, so no real view. Also this is located in a private residential wing that can only be accessed by going out of the hotel and it was a bit of a hoof with the suitcases. There were a few places on a couple of the walls in the bathroom and hallway that had been damaged and needed some repair but they weren't deal breakers and in comparison with the rest of the suite were very minor. We had breakfast in the morning at the hotel restaurant (Three Degrees Restaurant). Nice comfortable place with a good view of the river and the river walk outside. Food was excellent and the service was as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel/restaurant and commend the staff for their fine service. Just as an update on United and Avis. United finally refunded the outbound portion of our tickets after many phone calls and mailing of receipts. We were able to book a Virgin America flight to Portland. Avis gave us a nice Prius at a discounted price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Sorry to hear about you getting delayed and cutting your time at the RiverPlace short. Those darn airlines! Glad to hear they are taking care of you. Thanks for the review and your very kind words about our staff at both the restaurant and hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not only was this hotel in a great location, it offered the best AUTHENTIC service I have ever had. Not stuffy or pretentious, but genuine friendliness. We actually came back a week later just to catch our plane after a week's touring in Oregon. They welcomed us to stay for the day and even held a package for us. This is the only place I would stay in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I always wondered why hotel managers would train their employees to be stuffy and pretentious. Who wants that kind of service!? I love staying at smaller hotels where the staff becomes like family and friends. From the sound of things we nailed it. Thanks for the awesome review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.