We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The service here is outstanding! The location is great - right on the river, close to most thing but very relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are attractive and the beds comfortable. There are many nice little amenities here - complimentary newspaper, free wi-fi (if you are a Kimpton member), complimentary wine hour but what really stands out is the service. Every single person who worked there was unusually pleasant. After we checked out my 12 year old son realized he left his wallet in the safe. I sent an email but I didn't really expect them to find it. After we got home we received his wallet, with all of the cash still in it, and a nice note. It was incredible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Glad to hear we were able to find your sons wallet. I believe it was locked up in the guestroom safe so it sounds like he had the right idea, just need to remember to take it with him upon departing!! See you soon,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    122
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
192
474
57
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in Portland for one night and wanted to stay right on the river. We chose RiverPlace hotel for this reason, and we pleased with the location. The property is adjacent to the river front public park, right on the river, and part of a complex of small shops and restaurants. We enjoyed walking through the area and found it vibrant, clean and safe. After dinner at a near by wine bar, we had a nightcap on the hotel porch downstairs on a pair of cozy rocking chairs, and watched night fall over the river.

We found the hotel service to be outstanding, and the staff very helpful . The Valet service decent ($31/day), the lobby offered cold drinks and fruit, but the WiFi service was spotty in most areas.

Room itself is small, but well appointed, with lots of little extras you can pay for ; yoga mats, robes, and umbrellas. Joked with my husband to check for a price tag on the pillows before going to bed. Booked a riverfront suite- found it very expensive, if consider the size-, with a nice view of the marina and river. Very nice room, prettily decorated , if a little small - even for two people. Ordered breakfast from room service, and found it hot and tasty. We never had supper at the restaurant downstairs - Three Degrees- but heard from some locals that it is very good.

Overall, great staff and a great location made this a pleasant stay, but if looking to stay with a family- or two claustrophobic people- there are more affordable hotels nearby with larger rooms.

Room Tip: Take 3 minutes and sign up for Kimpton's loyalty card; score a discount on an expensive room.Riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola, florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in a two room suite overlooking the river. Attentive, friendly service.
Comfortable bed. Nicely done bathroom. New York Times and Wall Street Journal in the lobby or can be left at your door in the morning if you wish. Complimentary wine in the lobby or outside on the terrace, 5-6PM. Only disappointment was desk clerk who tried to discourage us from ordering a cab to the airport for an early morning departure. He suggested a limo instead because he said cabs may not be there at such an early hour even when ordered the night before. We ordered a cab and it was there 15 minutes before the appointed time of 4:45 AM.

Room Tip: Request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and sorry that the info from the front desk was a bit of a disappointment. It is true that cabs can be a little unpredictable especially in Portland where there is a need for more cabs. I am very glad to hear you had no problem with your arranged cab ride. I will share your feedback with our Guest Service team.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I travel a fair amount and stayed at my share of very nice high end resorts. The rooms at RiverPlace are among the most comfortable I have ever stayed at. The restaurant has great views of the Willamette River and the Esplanade (a great path along the river for walking, biking, jogging) is right in front of the hotel.

A great tip is checking out the courtyard (I think on the second floor). Not often used with great views of the river. RiverPlace has quick walking access to downtown and a nice peaceful place to retreat to at night. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Great tip! We have a great little courtyard on the 2nd floor open for guest just to relax and enjoy the view of the marina down below. We often host our evening wine hours up there and free yoga classes every Friday morning. See you up there!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

it is a small hotel that is situated next to the river. The service is exceptional, from the front door staff, front desk to the bar. Location is within walking distance of almost anything in downtown ( you can take the train too). Facilities are clean, well appointed and modern. Room was comfortable and a good size. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Use your kimpton rewards for free wi-if
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have traveled on business in both the US and Europe for years and I have stayed in nice hotels across both continents. As many business travelers will know, eating in your room while working is not unusual. Food is most of the time so, so. The RiverPlace is a great hotel with nice perks, clean and updated but I want to call out the room service and food – it was beyond anything I could imagine room service could make. I had the yellowtail crudo as a starter (exceptional) and the seasonal fish (Halibut was on the menu). Both were very good and better than any in-room dinner I have had – it is really on list of best food I have had while traveling (be it in-room or at a restaurant). I highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It’s not every day you hear that the In Room Dining experience is the highlight of one’s stay. Your review will be shared with our Executive Chef, he has done an amazing job at the new menu changes and concept. Thank You!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I loved this place. The staff was so very warm and accommodating. They're knowledgeable about the area and gave us a lot of good advice on things to do and places to see. Our room was especially nice, with a beautiful view of the river. The bed was so comfortable, we both slept great. The room was also nice and clean. We can't wait to visit Portland again, and when we do we definitely will stay again at this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Well with a review like that we can’t wait to have you again. Thank you for those wonderful remarks about our staff and your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.