We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RiverPlace Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 10% Off!
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shingle Springs, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“RiverPlace Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

RiverPlace Hotel and their welcoming staff are the main reason we visit Portland, OR. We love the river view from our room, the complimentary bikes (and helmets) with the nearby bike paths and the 5:00 happy hour with complimentary wine, beer and goodies. We have never met a more friendly hotel staff and we look forward to our visit (or two) every year! We have never had a bad meal at the hotel restaurant. The location of the hotel to everything you want to see and do in Portland is perfect! Last but not least.... The rocking chairs on the patio are a nice touch!

Room Tip: River front is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff! I am so lucky to have a staff that cares so much. I will be sure to share your review with the entire team at our next luncheon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    158
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
235
582
64
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at the RiverPlace on the Willamette River twice and so pleased with both visits that we already booked next stay? Love the location, amenities and rooms. Everyone is so welcoming, friendly, pleasant and very helpful with special requests. Thank you RiverPlace for making our visits so comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. I travel a lot and found this hotel to have the best service of probably any hotel I have been in....including Four Seasons in a few places. They said yes to everything. They were super friendly which made our kids feel welcome. The hotel must have purchased a small apartment complex right next door which they use for Suites. There are only 2 that are 2 bedrooms...one on the 2nd floor above a Spa and one above that on the third floor. We stayed in both since we began and ended our trip in Portland. The top one is quieter because you can't hear anyone walking above you, but the King bedroom was a little warmer than the Queen bedroom...something about the air. They have a balcony, full kitchen, 6 seat dining table, washer/dryer, single cup coffee pots (4 cups ones upon request), blender, dishwasher, etc. they even provide Tide, Bounce and Cascade. It was Perfect!!!!! Would stay here for every visit!!!! Kids also loved the gold fish ( upon request) in the room and special kids pack they gave them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I love hearing our service is being compared to a Four Seasons. That is one nice compliment! Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the amazing review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here a few years back and want to go again. Ambience along the river, the rooms, the hearty breakfast all relaxing, inviting. Cool thing is also that you don't need a car once you get there. Easy transport to downtown Portland. Can't recall if you need a car to get to the rose gardens but that's when we went (June) if you're a gardner. Thinking fall might be nice to revisit. A good getaway from Seattle. Note: We went June a few years back, but TA wouldn't let me choose prior to 2012. Good they stay current.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Well we would love to have you back. We have remodeled the entire hotel while you were away and we can’t wait for you to checkout our new digs. The fall in Portland can be an excellent time to visit although those roses may not be in full bloom anymore we will be sure to show you a good time.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Actually, it isn't a surprise that the Riverplace is a great place to stay. After all, it is another Kimpton. As my usual haunt was fully booked, I took the (risk) of stayingat Riverplace. Fortuitously, a last minute deal opened up the same weekend as my friend's birthday party so off I went down to Portland. Locationwise, the hotel rests on the banks of the Willamette. With the weather as it was, Three Degrees was a fantastic place to dine outside overlooking the water. The food was great, the service excellent, the view perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon. As an intouch member, I was upgraded without even asking for an upgrade. The room was surprisingly spacy and comfortable and not as stuffy as I was lead to believe by others. The best part of this visit was, of course, the professional and super courteous staff. One even remembered me from a visit six months ago. I highly recommend Riverplace if you want something just outside the hustle of downtown but within arm's reach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so glad you took the risk and really enjoyed the service and location. Hopefully we can becoming your go to hotel when visiting Portland. Cheers!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I traveled with a group for my destination wedding, ALL of my guests raved about the staff, service, and food at The RiverPlace. The rooms were beautiful, beds very comfortable, and staff so very helpful to us, many of my guests had never been to the area before.

We also traveled with a couple of children, and found the hotel to be very accommodating; the hotel offers free movie rentals and toy rentals.

To top it all off, the location is fabulous. You are walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants.

Honestly, my family and I have no complaints about our stay, and will definitely stay at The RiverPlace on our next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the acknowledgment of being kid friendly. I am a father of a 2 year old and I know how difficult it can be to travel with children. We have worked hard at becoming more kid friendly and I am so glad that your family enjoyed the movies and games. We will be rolling out s’mores hour soon which is always a great hit with the kids. Hope to see you soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel, exceeded expectations; location is charming, right at the Marina, but not too far a walk to downtown. Easy people watching (on their boats, skiffs and yachts!) from the wrap around porch deck with the babbling brook running by; food was outstanding at all 3 meals, beverage service friendly and quick. Overall a most pleasant surprise in a 10-day trip with 6 hotels that went from Seattle to San Francisco...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.