We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the city and on the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, California
1 review
“Great boutique hotel in the city and on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. In the city, yet nestled away from the hustle and bustle, and right on the water. So many things to do, right from this point. Great river walk with shops and dining. Easy freeway access. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. The river view rooms give a great view. Some even have fireplaces in them. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. I will stay here every time I come to Portland.

Room Tip: River view rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
Green Features: I am all for the environmental practices the hotel uses. I have no problem with hanging my towel to re-use it. They also have recycle baskets in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Glad that you loved our location and staff. We’re really excited to hear we made you a loyal guest! Can’t wait to see you again.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    131
    34
    7
    10
See reviews for
200
498
57
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

On my first trip to Portland, I took the advice of a friend and stayed at the River Place Hotel. It is a very nice and comfortable hotel, but for about $100.00 less per night, I could have stayed right across the street at the Marriott, which is very nice hotel, also.

Room Tip: Any river view room on the second floor is nice. You have an excellent view of the marina and passe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It is true at times our rates can be higher than the Marriott’s. Here at the RiverPlace we continuously seek value add amenities to offer. Free bike rentals, yoga class on Fridays, wine and beer hour every evening, morning coffee and tea reception, free passes to a nearby athletic club, not to mention some of the best service in Portland. In my opinion you always get what you pay for. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you come visit Portland.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location and service. Top notch in everything they do and provide. It can be expensive but is soo worth it. I live in area but love going here to escape the suburbs and kids to spend a night downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thank you Kimpton and Riverplace for a very memorable stay, commemorating two milestones (a significant birthday and anniversary). My husband and I celebrated our marriage here, 24 years ago, and returned to celebrate again ~ wow, we were very pampered. Thank you! I was very impressed!

For anyone new to Kimpton, join their loyalty program!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Awesome. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary. 24 years later we were here for you! I love it.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had the Riverview Suite and really enjoyed everything. Very nice, spacious, new and clean room with living room, kitchen and outdoor patio. Very comfortable bed and good room service. We'll be back. A+++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We love staying at the Riverplace. The location is perfect - close to restaurants, shopping, and the running trail along the Williamette River. The attention to detail and personal attention is outstanding. Love the free happy hour and enjoy people watching along the river. We take their bikes and shop all day when we stay in the city. This visit we enjoyed a day trip to Hood River to watch the kite boarders/wind surfers and do a little hiking up to the top of Hamilton Mountain. We also very much enjoyed a trip to Cannon Beach/Tillamook as well. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Best title ever! Sounds like you had an amazing trip thanks for spending it with us and thanks for the great review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the River Place hotel which is well placed to explore Portland. The hotel is very nicely furnished and the rooms are roomy and very comfortable. It is not a cheap hotel, so not one if you are on a budget. My pet hate is that you have to pay for wifi which given the cost of staying here should be complimentary. You can get it free but have to sign up to their loyalty programme to do so which I think should not be necessary. I would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our WIFI. Yes its true Kimpton does ask you to sign up for our loyalty program, Kimpton In Touch so you can enjoy free WIFI. It is free to sign up, only takes a minute and it has some pretty amazing perks. If you don’t feel like signing up we get it. Simply call down to the desk and we will give you a free password.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.