We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 133 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the River Place hotel which is well placed to explore Portland. The hotel is very nicely furnished and the rooms are roomy and very comfortable. It is not a cheap hotel, so not one if you are on a budget. My pet hate is that you have to pay for wifi which given the cost of staying here should be complimentary. You can get it free but have to sign up to their loyalty programme to do so which I think should not be necessary. I would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our WIFI. Yes its true Kimpton does ask you to sign up for our loyalty program, Kimpton In Touch so you can enjoy free WIFI. It is free to sign up, only takes a minute and it has some pretty amazing perks. If you don’t feel like signing up we get it. Simply call down to the desk and we will give you a free password.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    134
    34
    7
    10
See reviews for
201
504
57
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed coffee looking overlooking the marina and riverfront trail every morning. The staff was friendly and accommodating making RiverPlace a great choice for Portland. All employees were concierge trained, which we tested with success. The one downside we found was that the location was close to the downtown section, but a mile plus walk to the Pearl District. Most of our activities were in the Pearl District. We also found the suite configuration to be very comfortable for an extended weekend. They offer free admission to the Portland Athletic Club which offers all types of fitness options including a full range of classes.

Room Tip: The riverside offers better views, but we choose to spend our money on a larger room and enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Glad to hear our well trained staff passed the test! We do offer free bikes for those pearl district shopping sprees or we are not too far from the streetcar that will drop you off right in the middle of the pearl. Thanks for staying at the RiverPlace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel - not inexpensive but worth the money. Perfectly located, large comfortable rooms and a friendly, helpful and gracious staff. Our room faced the water and we enjoyed the sounds of the area whole appreciating the fact that the hotel itself was very quiet. When we return to Portland this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just finished up staying a week here and enjoyed our visit thoroughly. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived - helping with logistics, suggestions - almost anything. it is very relaxing at the end of the day to sit on the patio and enjoy some of the food from Three Degrees- their restaurant on location. We had hummus and vegetables with local wines, along with some other appetizers. The hotel provides coffee in the morning, wine tastings in the afternoon, free bicycles to get around town (gotta get to them quickly as there are a limited number) and complimentary access to a health spa and club next door.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for the review and thanks for choosing the RiverPlace. We have just added 2 more bikes to our fleet and we should receive a cool new “Kona beer” bike shortly. You are right the bikes are huge hit with our guest and we are trying to keep up with the demand but we got you covered.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our stay at this Kimpton property was memorable. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor and absolutely loved it. Kimpton remembered my wife's birthday and there was a card a bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for her when we arrived. The room was large spotless well-appointed and beautiful. The bed was typical Kimpton ultra comfortable. Guests have use of the upscale health club down the block and there are bicycles to borrow in the lobby. I cant remember a more beautiful room. Oh yes the Burnham in Chicago ! Another Kimpton property. Of Course. Thank You Kimpton! You do great work !

Room Tip: I am certain that ALL the rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My review is a bit different -- I didn't stay at RiverPlace but wished that I had. I crossed the street from my hotel to walk along the river and stopped in here on the way back for a glass of wine at the bar. A rounded room with a full view of the marina and the water was a natural place to strike up a conversation with some RiverPlace guests who could not say enough about how much they were enjoying their stay. I wandered around the lobby, talked with the staff at the desk about rooms, toured the public spaces and then walked the lawn in front of the hotel. As I headed back across the street, I realized that RiverPlace is where I should have made the reservation. You can't go wrong with a Kimpton Hotel, but this one is special with its great location and terrific staff. I enjoyed seeing Portland for the first time but realized the I had missed an opporunity. Next time at RiverPlace!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
You truly scared me with that review title that we had some things to work on!! We would absolutely love to have you. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about our property and staff.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm super snobby when it comes to hotels! RiverPlace exceeded my expectations! I loved the decor and personal touched as well as the service. It was wonderful to have the New York Times delivered to my room. Don't forget to order room service - it is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hey there is nothing wrong with being a snob when it comes to your hotel accommodations. Everyone should be. Glad that we exceeded those expectations. See you soon,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.