We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, newly decorated with style!! Lots of style! No boring hotel room here, but instead tastefully fun. We had a one bedroom overlooking the river. What a room! Very well insulated as well, with double paned windows. The room had a small balcony running from living room to bedroom. The shower had not only a hand held shower head but also a rain showerhead! Bottle of champagne and small box of chocolates awaiting us upon arrival.

Besides the location, this hotel is outstanding due to the staff. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful, providing tourist advice and general conversation.

There is a happy hour from 5:00 - 6:00 with a nice selection of wines, bottled water, and delicious cookies. Join the Kimpton Intouch program and your wifi is free, plus you receive a coupon for $10.00 of the minibar.

We borrowed bikes (free) and rode along the waterfront one morning. Very nice way to begin the day.

No downside to this hotel. Stay here!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the waterfront is beautiful, but due to the quality of the room, if price is an issue, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    154
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
227
563
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our third experience at a Kimpton hotel and could not be more pleased. Staff is, as always, very friendly, helpful and professional. Location is perfect. When weather is nice, the 5 p.m wine happy hour is served on the deck overlooking the Willamette river and all the various bridges. The restaurant is very good. We had a pulled pork sandwhich or something like that and it was very good. You are right on the river and can easily walk along the trail/path to downtown and the weekend street fair. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Obviously, ask for a river front room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Here is hoping for many wonderful sunny summer nights to enjoy wine up on the courtyard! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What is there not to like about this place...

Pros:
LOCATION, Location, location!! - right on the south waterfront park. they have bikes you can borrow for free. go riding or running anytime you want. people watch. only a few blocks from downtown proper.
nice chill atmosphere.
nicely updated rooms.
manager's reception every evening with the best chocolate chip cookies!
coffee station every morning.
free bottle of wine if you check into yelp.
awesome service!!

Cons:
It's so popular it's kind of busy. but it doesn't feel over crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! It sounds like you had a great stay. We love that you were able to explore our great city on our bikes. We certainly hope to see you and your family the next time you are in town! Be sure to keep an eye out for Kimpton Hotels in your future travels... we ALL have bikes!

Until next time,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Tappan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The River Place in Portland, Oregon is a phenomenal hotel. Great location, very helpful staff, extremely pet friendly, with great accomodations. One negative is that wifi is an extra fee. They have a free wine tasting hour nightly, great urns filled with flavored water available all day. Served as a wonderful location for our three days in Portland

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel! Be sure to sign up for our free guest loyalty program Kimpton InTouch before your next visit. You will receive complimentary wireless internet... and we will let you "Raid" the Mini Bar!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at RiverPlace Hotel probably ten times. It has come to be my favorite hotel anywhere. Because of my prior stays, each time I go there I walk in with the relaxed feeling that all will go well, rather than wondering what will go wrong. The people there remember the guests and welcome them when they return. They think about you in particular, rather than just any guest, when they offer to help. Last summer I stayed there with my family and while we were in Portland we ended up, to our surprise, buying a puppy. Everyone in the hotel helped with the new dog. Last week I returned on business and found a dog bed, a milk bone and a water dish in the corner of my room. I didn't have the dog with me but who cares? How cool is that!

Room Tip: Ask for an "8" room: 208, 308, 408. Interesting shape, great view, quiet. 208 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for the loyalty and for such an amazing review title. One of my favorites!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a quiet evening. We ate in the bar (because we were not that hungry) and had a great meal of bar food...not your typical bar food but really good stuff. Free wine and beet in the early evening. A quick walk to a nice place for breakfast (I don't usually like hotel breakfasts).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Portland - the hotel and staff are all top notch and the nightly wine tasting / happy hour is a really nice touch. The view is fantastic and the location of the hotel very convenient as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your sweet review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at the RiverPlace.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.