We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Nice Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is located on a marina at the intersection of four major highways and it is a bit difficult to get to, but once their is was nice. It is located on the Portland river walk, right next to a marina. The river walk was a nice place to stroll with shops and restaurants. We were there on Father's Dayana many of the restaurants were closed. The layout of the hotel was not your long hallway with rooms on each side that is typical of most hotels. We loved the decor and the way the rooms were set up,again not typical. They do charge for valet parking in their closed garage. Although parking was pricey and I parked my motorcycle myself, it was worth it for the added security. They have a manager's reception each night with free wine and beer. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was good but pricey. The rooms are pricey also, but we expected that when we made the reservation.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are the ones to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow what a great review!!! Thank you so much for your great comments about our hotel. We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy wine hour each night while you were here. What a treat.

We will see you next time!

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    126
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
195
485
57
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent three nights here in May and could not have been happier! It poured rain our entire stay and we were delighted to have such a wonderful, spacious, well appointed room to spend so much time in. Ours was a small king suite with outstanding river views. The bed was heaven, the linens high quality. We were especially impressed with the housekeeping staff. Our only disappointment was the on site restaurant, Three Degrees. The menu was not appealing to us and the quality of the somewhat odd dishes was mediocre at best. We would not hesitate to stay here again, we will just take a pass on dining!

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. I can't wait to pass along your comments about our housekeeping staff. They are truly the best I have ever worked with.

I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding our restaurant to our Chef and the Genreal Manager. I am sure they will appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to your next stay.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts. The perks were an upgrade to a river view room. 4:00 P.M. checkout, free breakfast and one dinner. Not a fan of the dining room (sorry to look a gift-horse in the mouth) but I will review that (called three degrees) separately.

The hotel is too small to have a dedicated bellman staff, so the valets split duty. There was noone to open the cab door or take the bags. Can carry a bag, but that was odd at the second highest rated hotel in Portland (the other one is also a Klimpton.

The staff was nice. The elevators are low and jerky. That needs to be fixed. The room was clean and nicely laid out. The blackout curtains are good and you need them because the west facing room gets full unrelenting morning sun. Some up and down shades inside the curtains would be nice.

The rooms are designed to look like a ship and there is a poem on the do not disturb tab about how ships are the closest thing to dreams human hands can build. They have a headboard that wraps around one entire wall in tufted burgundy faux leather. It looks like a 70's steakhouse which is fine. I love 70's steakhouses. There are these dumb like lamps the size of wastepaper basket hanging over bedside tables two people could eat off and a totally out of place 70's mirrored chest of drawers. Its not offensive, but it could be updated. The pool is a health club that looks like it was a YMCA in the 70's

The location makes it all worthwhile and the price was very reasonable $ 290 a night. It is in a park on the river and it fits in with the eclectic parkland style. It was nice, but had a few quirks

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ok so it took us three attempts to get to the hotel, but that's the fault of Portland's incredibly confusing highway and one way systems. They do have driving directions on the website; make sure you refer to them and don't just rely on a map.
Once there, Doug and Andrew were wonderfully welcoming, really great guys who love what they do. They set a very high bar for service from the moment you step out of your car. Fresh iced lemonade in the lobby, and a $10 'raid the minibar' voucher soon calmed our traffic-frazzled nerves. As a previous reviewer said, join the Kimpton loyalty scheme to get the voucher and free wifi. We had a king room with river view, very spacious with all-new furnishings and huge, hugely comfortable bed. There's also super fluffy robes, safe, iron, ironing board, slippers, yoga mat ... Though I thought the bathroom shampoo etc was a bit downmarket-looking compared to the newly styled rooms.
Breakfast wasn't included in the rate, but hey this is Portland where baristas are close to rock stars (and chefs are rated even higher) so we went to Case Study's downtown branch, which is about a 12 minute walk up 10th.
We also took advantage of the wine hour, held outdoors on the deck, with a live jazz duo, 4 sorts of wine as well as beer, soft drinks and snacks. Yes it was the most expensive hotel of our Washington/oregon trip, but absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Glad to hear Douglas and Andrew gave you that big warm welcome when you arrived. Those two are true professionals when it comes to hospitality. Thanks for the amazing review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we recently stayed a week at the riverplace, stayed in a jr suite overlooking river, was nice, comfortable, clean, quiet. could watch the dragon boats going by. staff were polite and informitive. downtown was only a short walk away. only wished they had better breakfast was not impressed with restaurant. overall was a good stay and would stay their again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for spending an entire week with us. It was a pleasure having you. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast. We all appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our restaurant offerings. Thanks for the review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The River Place is a bit of a change from Kimpton's usual style.

It is located beside the Columbia River adjacent to a very pleasant park and marina. It is about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area.

Our standard room was very spacious and nicely decorated. Our room faced the city and nearby main road. The view was average but considering a busy road was nearby the room was very quiet. Staff reported the hotel had been recently renovated. It certainly seems fresh and new. The Etro bathroom amenities are a nice touch.

Doormen and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. After our first encounter they all greeted us by name.

The traditional Kimpton winetasting is served each evening in the 'living room'. Always a nice perk.

River view rooms would probably be a much nicer option than city view.

Tips: Join the Kimpton In-Touch program. It's free. Members get their choice of newspapers, free wifi and $10 credit for the mini-bar.

Room Tip: Try for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our new look. You are right that this hotel is just a little different from other Kimpton Hotels. We are a little smaller but we still offer all of the cool amenities that other Kimpton's do.

We certainly hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel

Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Mom and I had a wonderful weekend getaway and chose this hotel for the beautiful location; we got so much more then we had expected! From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we were greeted by the friendly valet, checking in was easy and so friendly. Our room was decorated so beautiful, comfortable, and so clean. We were surprised with a welcome tray including wine, cupcakes, and a manuicure/pedicure kit to help us celebrate our Mother/Daughter getaway. It helped kick off a great weekend together! The restaurant, Three Degrees, had delicious food, and the staff was knowledgable and a delight. I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back with my husband! Thank you to all the staff at the RiverPlace Hotel! We really appreciated everything you did to make our stay special and unique!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I just love to hear how we rolled out the red carpet for you and your Mom. We will do the same when you bring the husband. Let’s see you again before the summer zooms by. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.