We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the time we pulled up in front of the hotel to the time to the time we checked out, this was an exceptional lodging experience. The room and amenities were impeccable, but the knowledge, helpfulness, and friendliness of the staff helped to make this one of our most enjoyable hotel experiences in recent memory (and we travel a lot!). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Portland area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing the staff as the main reason you enjoyed your stay. Impeccable and Outstanding we just love those words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    147
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
213
541
62
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I wouldn't hesitate to book a stay at the RiverPlace Hotel again. The rooms are very comfortable and newly updated, the view of the water is serene and the restaurant was worth dining at (fab wine list). I also enjoyed the fact that they offer up free bikes in the lobby to tour the city along with a free pass to an outstanding workout center a block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the new look and the new menu at 3 Degrees. Free bike use and free full access pass to the Athletic Club, these perks can’t be beat. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the valet, we knew we had chosen the right hotel. We were greeted enthusiastically, our bags quickly put on a luggage cart and whisked to the front desk to check in. Maya also greeted us warmly, checked us in promptly and informed us of all the amenities of the hotel. We were then escorted to our room and were pleasantly surprised to find a gorgeous, newly renovated room overlooking the river. Everything about the room was stunning; from the bed (that was so comfortable that I didn't want to leave it!), to the decor and everything in between! The room was immaculate and so cozy. Maya even called us after a few minutes to make sure everything was to our satifaction and if we needed anything. Little touches like this go a long way. There is a hosted wine reception from 5-6 and we enjoyed some wonderful local wines (and beer) along with the company of some cute little four legged guests that were being taken care of by the staff for a hotel guest. We also had dinner at their restaurant, Three Degrees and the food and service there were also top notch. Had some great cocktails designed by their mixologist and could not have had a more wonderful evening.

We only were able to stay for one night, but were so sad to leave that I need to plan another trip back very soon. This is one of my favorite hotels in the country!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Awesome! Sounds like it was a team effort from all departments that made your stay a memorable one. I just love team work! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have submitted reviews for RiverPlace in the past but stayed there again last night. RiverPlace continues to be my preferred lodging option in Portland! I will expand on my previous experiences with a confessions first. I am a self diagnosed germaphobe (spelling?). Upon arrival to any hotel I completely clean the room with Lysol spray and wipes, thoroughly check the bed and leave behind my own pillow covers. RiverPlace ALWAYS passes my cleanliness test! So not only are the hotel, service and accommodations top notch, the room is clean and access to the interstate is easy! I would book a trip to RiverPlace with complete confidence!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate the loyalty and thanks for continuing to review the RiverPlace! I will defiantly be sharing your review with our Housekeeping Attendants. They just love hearing that all of their hard work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I live near Portland, but wanted to do something special on our 50th anniversary, so I surprised her by booking a room at RiverPlace Hotel. We had stayed there once around 15 to 20 years ago and wanted to create another special memory. It exceeded our expectation. The facility and room was fantastic and I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wow 50 years! Congratulations. We were honored to be involved in such a special occasion. Thanks for choosing the RiverPlace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First of all, the staff was excellent from the time of check-in to check-out. Very informative about local restaurants, told us where to find a reasonably-priced piece of luggage (one of our pieces had broken during our trip), guided us to their associated sports club w/ swimming pool (free to hotel guests, only about a block away). Housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel was super clean and our bathroom was spacious. The room was a bit on the small side for having two queen beds (family of 2 adults, 2 children). The restaurant in the hotel was pricey, but there were many close options which we chose instead.

Overall, excellent hotel w/ a beautiful location right on the river and apart from the town by a block or so (but easy access to downtown by a short walk on safe paths and crosswalks).

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a river-side room, but the hotel is quiet on the other side, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a smiling valet who was chatty and eager to get us rolling. The check in process was incredibly prompt and the girl at the desk was genuinely happy, polite and got her job done in such a way that it honestly seemed effortless. The entire hotel, it's hallways and entrance were all very clean and smelled that way.
The highlight (ok, so I'm simple) was the fact that there was complimentary coffee and tea provided in the lobby at 7am. Seating in the lobby as well a son the property, affords a nice relaxing way to wake up and roam around feeling like home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hey I don’t see anything wrong with you enjoying the coffee and tea reception. We use a local Portland roaster and we do all of the work of brewing it. I love the fact that this was a highlight. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.