We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yup - its back as my favorite hotel in America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yup - its back as my favorite hotel in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the warm welcome at the front desk to the complimentary goodies for me and my daughter's visiting puppy this was the best visit ever at the RiverPlace. I have stayed here many times since 2005 and the Kimpton staff are now in the groove after a rocky few missteps my last visit which occurred during the management transition from Larkspur to Kimpton. The RiverPlace is back as my #1 - no small feat as I have just returned from a visit to NYC, arguably the most sophisticated city in the world. RiverPlace has retained all the charm of its setting, the friendliness of Portland and increased its attention to detail and personalized service. They got me a rent a car within 15 minutes of my request. And sitting by the fire, watching the river traffic, the city lights and sipping a glass of wine in my one bedroom suite is a memory I will cherish and hope to repeat! Hot coffee or cocoa in the lobby in the morning if you want, wine tasting and appetizers at night - just perfect whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Thank you RiverPlace for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are absolutely honored to be back on your #1 list. Thanks for returning and allowing us the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    146
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
213
535
62
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I came to the RIverPlace Hotel with my close friends for a book club overnight. We have been choosing nice hotels in Portland or Seattle for many years for our annual overnight together. Staying at the RiverPlace was the best experience we have had at any of the nice boutique or luxery hotels we have chosen over the last ten years.

Each staff person from the hotel we came across (valet, front desk, housekeeping, concierge) was extremely thoughtful and gracious, and they made every effort to make our time together special. Extra touches included a handwritten note in our room, complimentary wine for all guests, thoughtful dinner recommendations, not to mention a great health club and bikes for borrowing for a ride along the river. The lovely rooms had beautiful views, excellent beds and very quiet. We had one of the suites, and it had everything in it to make our weekend away relaxing and special. The in and out valet, made our side trips to different part of the town easy and quick there were nice restaurants within walking distance as well. Watching the river from our room made it real vacation and we left feeling truly pampered. We have decided we will be back here next year.

Room Tip: The water view is extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Sounds like it was a team effort by all departments to make your visit with us so enjoyable. We love that you will be back next year. But why wait so long?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the RiverPlace during a convention in October 2012. The staff was welcoming and excellent. They made every effort to assist us with any questions and offer advice. It was more than that, though: the staff welcomed questions and seemed to be genuinely delighted to dispense advice. The staff were easily the best part of our stay (excluding, naturally, the joy of Portland food carts).

- Location - We found the location to be excellent in two parts! The hotel is adjacent to the Willamette River. There is an excellent network of pathways along the river for bikes (and everyone else). Secondly, we enjoyed the convenience of a straight shot from the hotel to the US26 and a straight shot back from the 26 (which we did every day to visit friends). The hotel is close to local transportation (max and street car loop). Easy access to Powell's and more.
Safety note - Portland is a City and keeping aware of your surroundings is as important here as in any urban area. No need to be afraid, be cautious about walking alone along the river. The transient population seemed to increase as one heads north - especially in the Burnside area. The hotel staff can give you a sense of any areas to avoid after dark.

- Room - Our incredibly comfortable and stylish room was on the second floor with a courtyard view. There is a wine reception each afternoon in the Courtyard. The courtyard has some nice plantings and pergolas - they help with privacy and make a for a pleasant view. The doors were heavier/thicker than most. We never heard anyone outside the room. The room was a single King, standard (no kitchen) with plenty of extra space to spread out with our 2 large dogs. The bathroom was tiled and modern, with excellent complimentary products (the quality is so good, it's worth mentioning). The bed was excellent, but the pillows...ahhh - the best pillows ever. Room also had a nice flat screen; plenty of good lighting; nice walking tour maps; good Portland city guides.

- The only drawback - Not a crisis by any standard, but the minifridge which was stocked with bar items leaving little room for personal beverages.

**Dog Friendly** Kimpton hotels have an excellent pet policy (accept all size of dogs; no pet fee). There were treats at the desk and in our room. Plenty of space in the standard rooms for 2 large dogs to spread out. We found the modern bathroom faucet not the easiest for rinsing dog bowls (splurge for a kitchen if you can). The large grassy area adjacent to the hotel seems an oasis, but for those with indiscriminating pooches beware the abundance of goose poop. We were especially grateful to the valets for their patience as we loaded and unloaded gear and dogs (one of us did not have to attend the meetings).

Everything you would expect from a Kimpton Hotel, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Dog travelers: choose a room with a kitchen for rinsing bowls et al if you are staying for a length...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Portland for business: The Heathman, The Governor Hotel, Hotel Modera to name a few. This was my first stay at the Kimpton's RiverPlace Hotel. I absolutely enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and the interior was terrific, not to mention the view. If you get there by 5, enjoy the complimentary wine bar happy hour...a plus indeed. I also liked the idea that a bicycle was available if you wanted to bike down the river walk.
A handful of restaurants are within walking distance too.
Because I was traveling solo, I felt safe in this hotel and enjoyed the fireplaces down stairs and the comfortable seating. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Very nice review! We are in with some great company when it comes to the hotels you have previously visited. We hope to keep you as our loyal guest from here on out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel really. It was absolutely perfect from the time we arrived and the valet greeted us out front to when we checked out the next day. The staff was simply amazing, the beds were super comfy, and the free hot rum cider and wine tasting in the evening was a extra special bonus. The overall quality and cleanliness of the hotel was way above par - especially for the price. Champagne on beer budget is just what we needed, and exactly what we received on our special romantic weekend. Much thanks to the River Place staff!

Room Tip: We got a river facing room on the 4th floor. It was quiet, beautiful, and just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Always happy to hear we played a part in providing romance no matter the budget. Thanks for your very kind words about our staff. I have no doubt they will enjoy your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

What an excellent spot for our recent trip to visit with local friends and introduce our two young boys to downtown Portland! I've stayed at other Kimpton properties in San Francisco and San Diego and loved them for swank business travel but this spot was also great for kids. From the front desk to the valet to the bartender the service is first class. The staff addressed us by name throughout our stay which the boys found particularly impressive. Our local friends came to meet us en-masse and shared in the complimentary wine tasting with us at the desk's invitation.
Centrally located with great views of the river and plenty to do for the whole family along with everything I expected from Kimpton already. We'll be back in the summertime........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
And with feedback like that we can’t wait to have you and the family back in the summer months! We have worked hard to make the RiverPlace a little more family friendly and it’s so nice to hear that its paying off. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W\Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend celebrating our 30 years together. This is the first time we have stayed at the RiverPlace and it was very nice. They put complimentary wine in our room which was a nice touch. The staff is amazing and will call you by name from the very first time they meet you. The area the hotel is in is along the river and great for jogging or walking. If you are going to stay here, joing the Kimpton reward club and you will get to raid the snack bar each time you stay for $10.00 and you get free wi fi.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbor are a little more expensive but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.