We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 10% Off!
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“An absolutely fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at the RiverPlace multiple times over the past few years. Each and every time that my wife and I had the pleasure of staying there the staff was exceptional. However, those past experiences could not have prepared me for the truly remarkable and extraordinary treatment that we received on this last trip in July, 2012 during a very busy time for the hotel. My wife, terminally ill with cancer, was hospitalized at OHSU and I stayed at RiverPlace.. Her condition made it impossible to know when I could move her to our summer home in Cannon Beach. Mr. Kunzer made it clear that whatever I and my family needed would be taken care of. I know they turned away people who had booked my room and that of my daughter. Never once was there any pressure or indication from Ryan, or any staff, that my problem was causing them a problem. Yet, I know it did. They worked with me daily until we could discharge my wife to Hospice care. I have traveled a lot and stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world. None would have treated my in this kind, empathetic, and sensitive way. I will be back to Portland this coming summer and will be back to RiverPlace, a place I am proud to call "home" for that is how they make you feel - from the doorman,the reception desk, to housekeeping, to a fantastic manager. Thank you all. Robert H. Tamis, MD

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent, but I prefer the ones that look out on the river. They are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dr. Tamis I am moved by your kind words. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your return visit next summer. I hope you have a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    169
    44
    8
    11
See reviews for
254
616
69
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travel frequently for business and pleasure. Our recent stay at the River Place was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. We were on our honeymoon and had booked a room in our price range; to our surprise and delight we were upgraded upon arrival. The manager left a personal note card in our room, a bottle of wine, and box of chocolates. We felt so special! The room had an incredible view and all of the special touches in the room were beyond those of similar hotels in this price range. All of the staff we encountered from valets to desk clerks to servers in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Although the weather was typical Portland wet and dreary, the staff was warm and welcoming. This was my first experience with a Kimpton property and I will seek them out in other places and make a point to stay there when we return to Portland. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown, the Saturday market, and other Portland attractions. We highly recommend the River Place!

Room Tip: The river front rooms are wonderful - even when it is raining, there is a great view of waterfront a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for recommending us to your friends and family! Sorry that we couldn’t do much about the weather but from the sound of things our staff made your Honeymoon stay a fantastic one. Thanks for staying at the RiverPlace over such a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Good location; excellent restaurant; very comfortable bed and room; most friendly, courteous and efficient staff; free wine tasting with nibbles; and all for a most acceptable price.

This has to be one of the best hotels in the USA my wife and I have ever stayed in !!!!

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We just love being on our guest top list of hotels. What an honor! Thanks for visiting us and the city of roses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was honestly the best hotel experience I've had, and I travel a lot! I spent two weeks here on a business trip and needed a pet friendly hotel near my office. The location was perfect and the service was outstanding. The front desk staff and managers pet-sat my dog every day for two weeks while I was at work! They treated him like their own and totally spoiled him, giving him treats, taking him for walks, putting a bed out for him, and playing with him all day. When I'd get him at the end of the day he'd be exhausted from playing all day and was so happy. One of the staff even knit a toy for him! When I showed up the second week, there was a welcome basket for us and they even blew up a picture of him and all signed it! I can't thank them enough for making my work trip less stressful and it felt like I was coming home to friends at the end of the day. And better yet, they told other Kimpton hotels in other cities that I work in that my dog was coming and last week in Philly they also had a note and welcome basket for us! If you have a pet, this is definitely the best place to stay in Portland...and even if you don't, the staff are so friendly and helpful it is a pleasure to stay here!

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room on the courtyard floor so you can have easy access to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I couldn’t be more proud of our staff! I will personally thank Yumiko for knitting your dog a toy and give a big hug to the front desk staff for putting so much love and effort into dog sitting. Thanks for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! Convenient location for the Rose Quarter (which is why I was there) -- a very short drive to the parking lot at the Rose Quarter, and back. Walkable to many areas in downtown. Friendly, very accomodating staff. Wine hour and free coffee in the mornings, and a great restaurant in the hotel also. And pet friendly! The staff made sure that our two rooms were right next door to each other. They remembered the reason we were coming and asked us about it. The rooms were very clean and beautiful, and an extremely comfortable bed! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed the overall experience of the RiverPlace. I bet you were here to see the Boss at the Rose Garden. So jealous. Would love to have you the next time he is in town if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful experience celebrating her birthday. All the employees we encountered could not have been nicer or more accommodating, which made for a relaxing and enjoyable time. The room was top-notch (even got a free upgrade!) as was the dinner and breakfast at Three Degrees. We had planned to go somewhere else for breakfast, but the dinner experience the night before was so good that we wanted to try the breakfast as well. We were not disappointed! Cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Loved the river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Amazing comments and feedback. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay here! I would highly recommend it. The service was fantastic and the complimentary Internet, wine/beer hour and coffee in the morning was fantastic. It is walkable to down town or you can use public transit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#12 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.