We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Location Average Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #1 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Waterfront Location Average Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This is a nice place to stay but I can't say I share the enthusiasm that other reviewers did over this hotel. I think the location is great for a leisure stay and there are other attractions but I didn't think the rooms were noteworthy.

I had a large suite but the actual furniture and tv's were of average quality. My bed actually had sharp objects poking out of the mattress. The bathroom was quite nice however and had high quality accessories.

The hotel has an upscale restaurant and there are a few other restaurants nearby but not as many options as if you stay in the heart of downtown. They have an agreement with the nearby River Place Athletic Club so you can get a full workout in. Service was friendly but not exceptional.

I think this would be a good vacation destination (despite the negative comments), especially in the summer but I think there are better options in Portland in their price range.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    880
    123
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
193
477
57
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

RiverPlace is highly-rated and in all respects deservedly so. The location is right on the riverfront abutting a park area, the immediate neighborhood has a health club which allows hotel guests a daily membership (for lap swimmers the best time is about 8 a.m.) and - if you can get a reservation - VQ restaurant not more than two blocks away (go for weekend brunch but do reserve in advance) as well as - in the other direction - the free trolley to downtown.

The hotel though new is tastefully done (no faux rustification) with ample rooms and the dining areas are spacious but not overdone. Those with much hotel experience in the US will be surprised to find the restaurant Three Degrees serves innovative and savory cuisine; the menu features local, seasonal produce by local chefs, and the quality of both dinner and breakfast menus invites a return. So, too, happy hour at the bar is not to be missed, and the local wines (wine from Oregon? Oh yes...) are great.

We live in Asia throughout the year and I travel throughout that region for business, staying at great hotels in Asia, mostly local, small, particularized, boutique hotels. RiverPlace compares well with the best of 'em, and that's why it's the only place I stay when in Portland: Service, quality, value and unique experience. Our daughter lives in Portland and she, too, thinks this hotel is the best so there, a local's recommendation as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeview, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The location of the hotel to downtown Portland is wonderful. The river on one side and the city on the other, with so many things withing walking distance. The staff were so friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Rooms were very nice, quiet and clean with VERY comfortable beds. Half way through our stay we moved from a single room with 2 beds to a king suite where they even provided a feather bed to top the sleeper sofa. They are very dog friendly, even providing a few hours of doggie daycare at the front desk and recommending places we could take the dog with us to eat. Can't wait for the next opportunity I have to return to Portland and stay at the RiverPlace again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night while travelling to California. We were impressed with everything from the start. The lobby, the staff, the quality of the room and decor, and the restaurant, which had a fabulous half-price sale on drinks AND food in the early evening.
We would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Add my vote to the accolades for this great property. There is nothing I can fault this hotel for. If I could give the staff more stars, I would, as friendly and accommodating as they were. We got a great rate on a blind bidding web site, then upgraded to a river view based on other reviews. It was well worth it, as the view of the harbor and the river was spectacular. Large room, comfortable bed, nice flat screen TV, free internet, premium bath products and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the lobby each afternoon all contribute to a luxurious experience. A block away is their athletic club, which was a $5 per person fee for us to use because of our low room rate. I took a pilates class there, which was excellent, although the cardio machines are in a kind of small, strange, open space on a second floor walkway. The weight room was much better, and they have an indoor hoops court and 1/16 of a mile indoor track. The location is a 10 minute walk to downtown or to the Saturday market, and right by the 5 south, which was convenient for us, as we were visiting our daughter who is attending Lewis & Clark College. Parking charge is high, but we were able to park at the 3-hour meters right outside the hotel for the hour or two we we were around during the day. We noticed a parking lot on the main street above that had low, all-day rates. In sum, we've stayed at many hotels in Portland, and more or less liked them all, but this was by far our most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This hotel was very nice! We went and saw Eric Clapton and decided to stay at this hotel. Soo happy we chose the riverplace! From the warm greeting, to the beautiful hotel grounds we were very impressed with this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel like royalty! Free upgrade to riverview, and complimentary drinks for a fifteen minute wait on our room to be ready for us! To calling our cab for us etc, and complimentary newspaper from a long list of them. Very clean and perfect hotel in downtown Portland location! Will definately be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel is located in a great area -- very convenient and has great view of the harbor. Just as importantly, the staff was highly focused on customer service and went out of their way to take care of guests. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.