We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Portland to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 NE Multnomah Street, Portland, OR 97232   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save with Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The good; It's clean. The beds are very good. You get a hot cookie when you check in. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is great for public transport users. If you love the color brown - this is heaven.
The bad; The hotel was very flash 30 years ago but time has been standing still and it's old and very brown. Internet access in the rooms is 12$ per device for 24 hours! The food is plain and boring.
All in all it's average.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    405
    188
    57
    11
See reviews for
135
182
65
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree for three nights while visiting Portland. I chose this hotel primarily due to the price; it was significantly less expensive than the big name hotels in the city. The hotel is definitely showing it’s age, and a few updates would make this hotel shine. I had a king bed room with a balcony on the 13th floor. The room was quite spacious, and included a desk and a couch. The bed was comfortable, but the décor was a bit dated, especially the mustard yellow leather couch. The view I had was of downtown Portland; rooms on the opposite side of the building would probably have views of Mt. Hood. I ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning. A buffet was available, but I ordered the French toast off the menu, and it was quite good. Parking is convenient across from the hotel, and there is a pedestrian bridge from the upper levels to the hotel. The best feature of this hotel is the proximity to the Max rail line (the Lloyd Center stop is the last one in the free ride zone). A quick walk across the street, and you are standing on the platform. For the most part, this hotel was a good choice (especially for the value compared to other “downtown” hotels), but could use some updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor for views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

All the staff we were in contact with were very accomodating and friendly. When we were downgraded to a smaller room so we could check in early I asked if they would give us free breakfast in exchange and they gave us coupons for discounts for breakfast. Instead of getting the buffet we chose to get coffee/pastry/fruit at the little coffee stand. The pastries were delicious! The only bad thing is we purchased a sandwhich to take to the convention we were attending and it was soggy on the bottom. But that's my only complaint!
We walked across the street to take the metro train to the convention and also into downtown portland where we shopped til we dropped. It was awesome and so nice to not have to drive and park! Plus LLoyed Center shopping mall is right across the street from the hotel too!
Great location and overall the service we recieved is what will bring us back to this hotel!
Kudos to the management and staff !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We came to Portland to visit friends and celebrate my fiancées birthday. I wanted a hotel downtown but they are all taxed and the ones that weren't as expensive looked like they were last remodeled in 1892. Yes, the 1800s are alive in Portland! I did a lot of research and decided to go with the Double Tree. It is on the other side of the river from downtown, but hop on the FREE max light rail and your downtown in less that 15 minutes! It has a nice facade and landscaping and is located not only by the max, but the Lloyd center mall and Holiday Park, which was perfect for us since we brought our dog, $25 pet fee. The room was cozy and clean with great Crabtree and evalynn bathroom products. My only gripes were the "heated" pool is by no means warm and there is no hot tub/whirlpool. Also, my room did not have a hair dryer, I was kinda banking on it having one. Maybe the front desk has one but I didn't bother asking...
All around great stay and nice, comfortable, accommodating hotel. The bar isnt bad either!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Doubletree Inn is a wonderful place to stay,
In a lot of ways, when one stays at the Doubletree Inn there is no reason to need to rent a car. For the price of a inner-city train ticket you can get from the airport to across the street from the Doubletree. From there you can walk (no more then 5-6 blocks) to a mall, major movie theater, food store, tons and tons of little shops and places to eat. Train fare is free from the Doubletree Inn to the convention center, Portland State University, and the downtown shopping area. Depending on the day of the week, one can also get to a farmers market and Saturday (artists) Market.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side-high up look out on the city. Rooms on the east side look out on a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, B.C.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here a Friday and Saturday night in June 2012. The location is good, right beside the free tram line for downtown and back. There is a shopping center with a theatre close by. The rooms are large and parking cheap. We found the pillows too small and one of the beds lumpy. The water pressure was also poor and difficult to get the right temperature for a shower.
All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Try to get a room as far away from the transit line as possible. It can be noisy

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the top floors and in the wing away from the tram line. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was hesitant in booking initially, as the property is across the river from downtown. I am so glad I did, though. Parking was $9.00/day, as opposed to $25.00 at most downtown hotels. Our room was very large and clean. Fantastic beds. We walked around the corner to catch the free transit each day to downtown, so no worries about parking.

The only downside for me was the poor water pressure in the shower. Other than that, we got a good room and cheap parking at just under $100/nt including taxes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Portland

Address: 1000 NE Multnomah Street, Portland, OR 97232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
#26 Family Hotel in Portland
#26 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.