We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Excellent location in downtown near shops and public transpo (1 block from airport train stop). Average rooms, kinda on the loud side (noise from the hallways, doors slamming, etc.). NIce views from our 17th floor room. Polite staff. No mini bar in room. Beds comfortable, but not the best I've had. Overall, good choice for the money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    331
    147
    50
    12
See reviews for
113
175
56
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We spent three days in Portland, and this hotel had great access to downtown. It faced the river and we jogged each day on the paths by the water.

The hotel went out of their way to accommodate us. We arrived shortly after noon and they offered us a room without a balcony. I mentioned that we had booked a room with a balcony, and they cleaned one and had it ready in approximately an hour after we returned from lunch. The room was spacious and clean, with a large flat-screen TV and a comfortable chair. It also had a good desk with work space for the business traveler.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed here for one night to pamper ourselves at the end of a more rustic road trip that included camping and river rafting. Kudos to the staff for treating us very well even though we showed up ragged and dirty! We found the location of this hotel to be excellent, and we had a good view of the riverfront. Although we didn't take advantage of most of the hotel's amenities, we didn't encounter one problem. The room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. It appears that the hotel had been recently remodeled, very tastefully. My only issues were similar to those of the other reviewer from Seattle who posted recently: very little is free here. Wireless Internet access was $20/day, I believe, and even access to a computer was priced at $5.95/15 minutes. I also don't understand why they didn't have a mini-fridge in the room -- you would think a hotel of this caliber would at least have a minibar. Actually, maybe I do understand it; they probably don't want people carrying in their own food so they can make more money off room service and their restaurants and vending machines. However, what if one needs to keep some medication cool? I also has a friend who needs to take special food with her wherever she goes due to a medical condition, and a mini-fridge would be great for this. C'mon Marriott, it would be so easy to help out people like this. Finally, parking on-site costs $24/day and is valet only. We noticed that there is a pay parking lot just behind the hotel that charged $10.95/day, I believe. We would probably park there on our next visit.

  • Liked — Very comfortable room
  • Disliked — No way to access the Internet without shelling out big bucks
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

This is a gorgeous hotel that I would highly recommend if you are staying in beautiful Portland. The views are beautiful, the hotel is right along the water, and it is close to the marina. As well, it is close enough to the action of downtown, but far enough away, and certainly walkable on a nice day. This particular Marriott was very charming and had a nice older elegance to it. The rooms were great, and after reading previous reviews, yes, the rooms are oddly shaped. We stayed on one of the higher floors, so the shape did not bother us. There is a great gym and indoor pool. In fact, both were packed. I couldn't believe how many people were in there on a Saturday afternoon. There are also a couple of restaurants and a coffee/juice bar downstairs. Service was excellent, as always, and we had a great weekend stay!

  • Liked — I just love staying at the Marriott, plus the location was perfect!
  • Disliked — Room service food wasn't great
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Great location, right next to the waterfront and some nice, yet affordable restaurants (and convenient to the zoo, which is excellent). The staff was great. An assistant manager on duty took 20 minutes talking to us about good restaurants, how to navigate the downtown transportation system and interesting places to go. All of the staff members were friendly -- they seemed really glad to have us as guests. Comfortable beds, comfortable rooms. We'll certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, very nice, clean rooms
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

there are 2 marriot properties downtown portland- this one is the waterfront property and the other is on broadway. if you want to be centrally located, the broadway property is a better location. downtown portland is so small though that even staying by the water you can still easily walk to most places (we walked to the pearl dist from this property) and you can catch a tram to get anywhere you need to go. the remodel was well done and the property is very nice- the lobby is nice, the staff friendly, and the rooms were very nice. comfy beds with down comforters, flat-screen tvs and even good artwork. the hotel was very quiet- we didnt hear anything thankfully. my only peeve with the hotel is that they charge quite a bit for wi-fi and they even charge for it in their business center (nothing complimentary in regard to internet access at this hotel). business travelers who i have spoken with say that this is common, but i travel for pleasure all the time and have never been charged for internet access. in this day and age it should really be free-- what, they arent making enough off of room service anymore?

  • Liked — well-appointed comfortable roomns
  • Disliked — expensive wi-fi
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

As usual, you can always count on Marriott. We had a free nights stay certificate. They let us check in early and check out late. Very clean, high class room. A little small though, but it was fine for one night. Plasma TV which was nice. Good shower. All around a great spot with a good location.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#44 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.