We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Purely Portland Package
Ranked #48 of 132 hotels in Portland
Abilene, Kansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I visited the Portland Marriott Downtown for a conference. Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming. The lobby was pristine and there was ice water with fresh sliced strawberries floating in it. Delicious! Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with soft pillows. Slept great! All of the facilities were nicely decorated and modern looking. The conference rooms were really nice. We were within walking distance of the waterfront, lots of restaurants and great shopping. Because of time, we ate at the in-hotel sports bar one evening and were surprised to find it was quite tasty.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    259
    114
    38
    11
See reviews for
91
141
49
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

from start to finish we received the best customer service of our portland trip. we asked for a quiet balcony room and we got a view of the river as well. the valet parking was great. the the consierge was fabulous- with great suggestions to restaurants and walking tour. we got complimentary crab cakes at a local restaurant from her reservation request. the location couldnt be better. we walked the riverfront promenade in front of the hotel and walked to portand city grill at night and jumped on the free trolley on the way back. the pool and jacuzzi was clean and well heated and had plenty of plush towels to use. great job portland riverfront marriot

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed one night and got a great deal through Priceline. Hotel appeared to be near capacity as the hotel was busy. A great location across the street from the river. Stayed on the top floor (16th) and had a city view. Our floor was quiet and we only occasionally heard a neighboring door close. Hotel parking was expensive, so we used a garage across the street that had a sky bridge to the hotel. Metered street parking is available as well. Quite a bit to do within walking distance. Very near the street car which will take you into the heart of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Hotel was nice; and the staff at the front desk was very helpful and valet was exceptional.

I do have a few issues with this hotel.

Why are they charging $12.95 a day for what they are calling high speed internet. I had better response out of dial-up and it does not have anything to do with the time of day. The system works the same at 4:00 am. I can also get free Internet at Mc Donald’s with the purchase of just a coffee. There is no excuse to charge in a hotel of this stature.

They charge $30.00 a day for parking. I could not find anywhere in the hotel listing of a parking fee. Every time your car is being retrieved the valet expects a tip. For $30.00 a day the hotel should be picking up that tab. It is getting to the point everyone wants to be tipped. I am over it.

Approximately 4:00 pm they exhaust from the kitchen the smell of steaks grilling. There is no other smell that comes up into the rooms but the exhaust from grill and at no other time during the day. Interesting how it is only pumped into the rooms between 4:00 and to the completion of dinning.

All the windows in this hotel on the floors that accommodate the hotel patrons and guests are well maintained. Go up into your room, try to look out the windows and it becomes an annoyance. I stayed in RM512, I actually cleaned two areas on the window, see attached pictures. Oh, and check your drinking glasses before using.

I will never stay at another Marriott. You just burned your bridge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

the view of downtown was great from our room at night the park across the street on the river way just right the light the mist . Champs grill in the hotle had a good happy hour the food was good not your bar food .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Good location within easy walking distance to light rail, restaurants and shopping. Room was clean and comfortable but the air conditioning was loud. Good workout facility and great running along the waterfront. No free wi-fi except in the lobby otherwise $14.00 charge to use wi-fi in room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

There is really nothing to say about this Marriott which is, kind of, the point. It is boring. Clean, business-like and... clinical? The pool which was knee-deep was unexciting. The gym was small for a hotel of this size. The long queue at check-in seemed to tire out the check-in staff - they seemed to be more bored than the Suits and Briefcases in the foyer.

That said, Portland and the Willamette River is a step outside of the hotel. A city and river that is anything but boring.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
#48 Spa Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.