We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #48 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location, convenience, staff, accommodations. Bistro restaurant service was a little slow, but compensated by wait staff being extremely friendly. Great experience all the way around!
Even though my room was only two doors from the elevator, I never heard a thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    303
    138
    46
    11
See reviews for
108
166
54
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed her a couple of nights in October while scouting a bicycle trip. The downtown location was as advertised and offered great access to touring the city as well as its environs. The staff was great at the front desk as well as the bar. The bar also had a good menu as well as a good wine list. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family stayed here in two rooms for 2 nights recently. The location was nice, right on the river and walking distance to shops and restaurants. the rooms were on the small side and the bathrooms were very small. The rooms are also looking a little old and tired, and need updating.

The service was OK.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You may be interested to know we have started a renovation project for our guest rooms that will be very pleasing for our guests - modern built-in furnishings that make the rooms feel much larger and designed for the business traveller. We hope you come back to see us again soon. Our renovation is scheduled for completion in April/May. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott waterfront with our son and one of his friends. The staff was very professional and the lobby area was nice. The rooms were subpar for a Marriott in my experience. The carpeting was old and somewhat dirty. The bathroom was tiny. They were doing some renovations on some upper floors and hopefully they are giving the property a much-needed update.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autumn D, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that the staff service you experienced was very good, as we pride ourselves on our team. We appreciate your comments and will use this information to make improvements in our room amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future once our guest room renovation is completed in the Spring of 2015, where you will find a brand new guest room and new amenities in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We wanted to stay downtown and give the kids an opportunity to swim and enjoy downtown. We chose the waterfront Marriott as we had stayed there many years ago and loved the views. The view, once again, did not disappoint. We were on the 9th floor and the sunrise against the water with Mt.Hood in the backdrop was breathtaking. This hotel has been remodeled in the past couple of years and has an "upscale" feel to it now. We had dinner in the Bistro and it was very good, and the service was better than expected. We were there for two nights and each morning we started with breakfast which was also very good. Full omelette bar and fresh Belgian waffles, as well as the usual buffett. The service, again, was very good at breakfast. Definitely request high floor, waterfront side, both for the view and to minimize the road noise. The only downfall were the beds, not very comfortable; however, a scheduled March remodel of the guest rooms will likely address this.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

First, let me say that the bellmen and valet's were absolutely above reproach - service with a smile in gale force winds and freezing cold.

But...I requested an upper floor riverview King Room (noted preference of "large" room) and I was given a lower floor double - which I made no fuss about at check-in at the front desk. I had a ton of luggage and the valet had his cart loaded and waiting. I figured I might be happy in the room provided...I was not! There was just barely room for the two beds and one nightstand! It was a freakin' closet with two beds. I revolted and the valet called the front desk - after some obvious push back they agreed to move me to a single King (like I requested and reserved). I asked the valet to check on what an upgrade to a suite would cost, thinking that would be what I'd have to do to get some space...the answer from the front desk was a very curt $150 on top of being over charged already. Needless, to say I didn't go for that option. We moved to that single King room and it was far larger than the closet they tried to push us into; it would even have been acceptable with two beds.

Never again in a Marriott...
Nef

Room Tip: Demand a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autumn D, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
We are incredibly sorry that your experience was less than pleasurable when staying with us. We will use your feedback as a coaching and training moment for our team. I would really enjoy speaking to you further about your stay, if you would like to reach out to me.
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and sharing your experience.

Autumn Davis
Hotel: 503-226-7600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I've stayed here many times and consistent is the best way to describe the experience.

Nice clean rooms, great staff, good food, and very conveniently located. There's a waterfront park across the, and any kind of cuisine you could possibly want nearby.

Parking is convenient only when using valet do be prepared to pay for it.

I keep coming back and will continue to do so. I recommend as a good, solid, and consistent hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#39 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.