We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient, comfy, and reasonably priced!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront to your Saves list
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Portland
new hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very convenient, comfy, and reasonably priced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed here for the last two nights of a road trip around the Pacific Northwest, and had been looking forward to comfy, clean, quiet digs after a few nights camping and visiting with family. For a very reasonable price ($190/night through Expedia) we got a decent-sized room with a BIG, comfy king-sized bed... nice view of the river and Hawthorne Bridge (we hadn't even asked for water views).. and free valet parking (this was a deal that seemed exclusive to Expedia). The hotel was in a surprisingly quiet neighborhood, easy walking distance to the Portland Streetcar (only 2-3 blocks away) which provides VERY convenient access to other neighborhoods (Pearl District, NW 23rd) where we spent most of our time. This is a GREAT deal for people who want to explore the city, without staying in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle (e.g. street noise).
We were very happy here, and would gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — convenient & comfy & good price
  • Disliked — one good restaurant in the immediate surrounding area - not much else in the way of good dining though.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    332
    147
    50
    12
See reviews for
113
175
56
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I were in town visiting our daughter and son-in-law and stayed at the waterfront Marriott for 5 nights. We had a great room with a view of the river and Mt. Hood off in the distance. The room was immaculate and very comfy. The staff went out of their way to meet our needs. The location was a plus as we did not rent a car but were able to walk to many places of interest.
I recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — friendliness, location and the concierge service
  • Disliked — fee for parking and computer use.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I stayed here for a conference in October. I am not sure how many people were at this conference, but I would bet it was a couple thousand. While my room was comfortable and nice (and came equipped with Bath and Body Works products), this hotel was clearly not ready for this conference. Only two of the four elevators were working, so it was very difficult to go any where fast, unless you took the stairs, and since I was on the 11th floor, that wasn't always an option. At one point the escalator was out of commission, too. It just seemed like they were not prepared for a large amount of people all needing to go to the same place at roughly the same time. It was frustrating.
But again, the room was nice, the staff were helpful, and once I discovered the super-secret service elevator, things weren't so bad.

  • Liked — Conference site
  • Disliked — Lack of working elevators
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were very pleased with this hotel and the location. We were traveling with our 18 year old son and had a nice view room on the 10th floor with 2 double beds. The room is a bit small for 3 people and double beds aren't too great for two people to share, but other than that the beds were incredibly comfortable as well as the pillows and linens. Room and bathroom were very clean and service (other than housekeeping leaving dirty towels and food trays in halls for hours or overnight) was very good. Nice riverfront spot and easy walking to shopping and restaurants. We will be back next time we visit Portland.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room and double beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We requested a king size room and were quoted a rate for the same. Got there. They said they were sold out and we could have two queens. We ended up with what they later amended to describe as two oversize full size beds. Same rate.Beds were tiny. Seems if they are going to advertise their rooms and rates with queens, that's what they should offer. They also messed up the billing, charging half to my card and half to the card used to guarantee the room -- despite being asked to change it on check in. Most of the staff was nice. Good location. But next time, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of beds advertised as queens, were in fact doubles. Hot pool, way too hot hot tub.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The first room they gave us was directly above the pool--it may have been the worst room location imaginable: the smell of chlorine made me ill. I would recommend going out of your way to ensure you don't get this room :)

We asked for a new room and they gave us a fantastic corner room with a view--changed the complexion of the trip completely. The front desk staff was very accommodating.

Overall, my wife and I had a very nice stay at the Downtown Marriott!

I would also like to make a recommendation with regards to dining near this hotel. We found a place, around the corner, called The Veritable Quandary: the second best wine and duck you will ever have (first place goes to a random spot in Chamonix, France).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

It's a clean hotel in a nice area of Downtown. We were a bit disappointed with the size of the room. We booked through Priceline and I had called them to reserve a king room with a view. They said that the view was not guaranteed. When we checked in, they ended giving us a small room on the 14th Floor with a queen bed. We're used to sleeping in a king bed, so a queen bed seemed really tight. The room was clean, but really small. Same with the bathroom. It could only accommodate one person at a time. Though we were given a room on the 14th Floor, we did not have access to the concierge lounge. The front desk said that it's not a given (meaning that if we booked through Priceline = no concierge access even though the Guest Book Services Binder said that all guests on the 14th and 15th Floor had access to this.) Valet parking is $26/day + tip = roughly $30+/day. We opted to look for street parking at night (free btw 7pm - 8am). We were able to see our car from our hotel room. Since we off shopping first thing in the morning, there really was not point in paying for valet parking.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Priceline booking = reduced services
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.