We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, close, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7101 NE 82nd Ave., Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, close, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. Staff was warm and welcoming. Rooms are clean, have a fridge and microwave. Bathroom is normal bathroom size. Reading others reviews I was expecting a lesser quality room. So glad we booked here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    122
    114
    62
    37
See reviews for
101
130
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room was a nice hotel room, basic, nothing special. Everything was clean. Staff was friendly and informative. Shuttle too and from Airport was ready and on time. The main reason for staying here was to have parking for my car. I came back and found my car nice and safe.

I will stay here again when traveling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heppner, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room booked thru Priceline bidding. Check in was good and staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom is TINY. On site restaurant is adequate. Location can be tricky, if you want to go back towards airport you must exit thru the back of the parking lot. We have stayed here a couple of times and it's always affordable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Didn't really have a great impression of Red Lion before, but got the hotel through Priceline and just needed a clean and safe place to stay after a late night arrival. Was pleasantly surprised. Check in was friendly and fast. The room was completely adequate and with recent upgrades to the bathroom and furniture. Quiet, clean and safe. A sport bar next door was open until midnight which was great so no need to find a place, and you simply couldn't be more convenient to the airport. Hotel is completely non smoking, and does not have elevators fyi (only two story though).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading all the reviews, I was afraid to stay here. But, with a deal of $139 for a night and 30 days of free parking, it was a steal. I was greeted by a lovely young woman working the evening shift and she had me checked in in nothing flat. Knowing I couldn't get my huge bag up to the second floor, she put me in a downstairs room where they only have double queen bed rooms. That was fine with me! The room was very clean and had a microwave, frig, and a coffee maker. The wakeup call and shuttle were right on time. I will happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlew, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Supportive of weary travelers - a great bargain. Will stay here again when we news a pdx hotel - half the price of the embassy suites and totally clean and pleasant, and the rooms were nicely sized with wonderful showers to wake you up for early morning flights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in many Red Lions and this one is by far in the worst condition. The exteriors should have tipped us off. While the shuttle service to and from the airport was fine, the hotel itself reserved the wrong type of room, saying they had not king rooms with sleeper sofas. When I questioned further, yes, they did have that type of room but Expedia had entered a wrong code. I took an inferior type room and climbed up a flight of stairs with worn out carpet. A musty smell pervaded the hotel and room especially. All in all, a disappointing experience. I learned later this location was owned by corporate and was surprised since I love the Seattle Red Lion on Fifth Avenue which is also corporately owned.

Room Tip: There were several hotels with shuttle service. Try one of those instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected ,we value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our front desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave., Portland, OR 97220
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among hotels near Portland airport, the Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport offers the smoothest of arrivals - in terms of comfort, convenience and affordability.Guests will find bright, newly renovated hotel accommodations just a half-mile from Portland International Airport and minutes from downtown Portland. Thoughtful comforts include Red Lion's plush Sealy pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi and spa-inspired bathrooms with imported granite vanities, ceramic tile floors and a multi-spray showerhead.Relax in the heated outdoor pool or enjoy a workout in the brand new fitness center. Showcasing Red Lion's signature cuisine, the Pacific Grille Restaurant and Sky Jockey Sports Lounge are ideal for unwinding with colleagues or friends.Count on the nearby MAX light rail system to keep you connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall and Expo Center, Colwod Golf Course, the Japanese Gardens and Oregon Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.