We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7101 NE 82nd Ave., Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 133 Hotels in Portland
PNW
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed and attractive furnishings. Good place for pets with several areas for walking them. One of the best in the ares for this price range.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    122
    114
    62
    37
See reviews for
101
130
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Booked into this hotel for two nights. Unpacked, piled the pillows into a comfortable spot on the bed and made myself comfortable UNTIL I discovered DOG HAIR all over the center of the bedspread! GROSSSSSSSSSSSSS! No response to my call to housekeeping, found a mildly sympathic person in guest services who reported it to the manager. We moved down the hall while he touted their pet-friendly policy and commented that this is not the first time such a thing has happened since they allowed animals. I asked whether the policy is made very clear to insure not causing a problem for people with allergies. He said yes, but when I looked at our online receipt, I found it only in fine print. So beware, cleanliness and allergies are ISSUES at RED LION Hotels!

Room Tip: DON'T stay here. No pet free available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed for three nights while attending a conference which took place in a nearby hotel. I got a very good rate on a book early and pay ahead promotional deal. The rooms are clean. The hotel is near the airport, but I barely heard the planes. The rooms are located in about four different buildings, and my room faced the back parking lot which faced a long-term parking lot and a golf course in the distance. There was no street noise, even though there was a major street near-by. However, there was a LOT of hotel noise. The walls are thin. You can hear conversations and TVs in the rooms below and next to you. The doors to the rooms shut hard and every morning I was awoke by someone leaving at 6 AM for an early flight. Also, the room smelled like at one point it had been a smoking room.

There is no indoor pool and the pool was closed for the season. No hot tub--indoor or outdoor although there was an exercise room. There are two restaurants next to the hotel, and the service for breakfast was cheerful and friendly. The gals at the front desk were not exactly warm and friendly, more cool and distant.

It's a good hotel to stay at if you won't be in your room much and don't mind the noise of other hotel guests. But, I've stayed at better Red Lions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Spent one night for convenience at the Red Lion. It was fine for an airport hotel. It is a remodeled HoJo Inn and they are working on upgrading it. Nice rooms and everything worked well. The front desk staff at check-in was a little distracted even though there was no one else there. Check out staff was much more attentive and pleasant. Parking was a bit of a challenge when we arrived back from dinner from the stay and fly crowd. Overall a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. No breakfast but according to the staff it is coming when the remodeling is done.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

When I am in Portland, OR I stay at this hotel. The staff is always courteous and friendly. They still have a restaurant that serves quite nice meals. I called the manager Ted Kooy about the rooms and he was outstanding. Each of our judges had a confirmation and checked in easily with no problems.

Terri Zittel

Room Tip: Use the Red Lion website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Manger rented out the conference room to a private party on Saturday night. Felt like I was trying to sleep in a night club. No service from hotel staff following numerous complaints. Woke up at 4am for my flight. 1 hour of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This Portland Airport Red Lion is low budget maintenance in my opinion. Everything is functional but not Red Lion Standards. Parking lot needs repaved and painted. Lot's of cigarette butts in landscape. Lobby ottomans were dirty see picture1. Some floor mats have the edges torn up. Nothing serious, but not Red Lion Standards of quality, in my opinion.

The neighborhood area around the hotel is not really too pedestrian friendly. There is no crosswalk to get across the Hwy. While waiting to check in I witnessed about 8 to10 guests climb the guardrail from the fast lane to cross the four lane Hwy. See picture2. The hotel is on a frontage Rd from this Hwy. There are some restaurants and bars on the hotel side of the Hwy but at least 8 to 10 guests in 30 minutes time crossed the Hwy while I waited to check in, so if you do choose to cross it's somewhat dangerous. I did not stay here, I ended up leaving after a misunderstanding and issue with my room. I could tell that he staff does take pride in their hotel it's just not what I would expect from a Red Lion Hotel. Location is great, nice and quiet and not directly in the flight path like many Portland airport hotels. I won't say avoid this hotel, but it's not what I was expecting. It's really OK, but if I recommend a place it has to be more than OK, so in that sense I don't recommend this place. I only recommend 1 out of about 5 hotels.

I really like Red Lion at Jantzen Beach on the River only 8 to 10 miles away for similar or same price, I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave., Portland, OR 97220
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among hotels near Portland airport, the Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport offers the smoothest of arrivals - in terms of comfort, convenience and affordability.Guests will find bright, newly renovated hotel accommodations just a half-mile from Portland International Airport and minutes from downtown Portland. Thoughtful comforts include Red Lion's plush Sealy pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi and spa-inspired bathrooms with imported granite vanities, ceramic tile floors and a multi-spray showerhead.Relax in the heated outdoor pool or enjoy a workout in the brand new fitness center. Showcasing Red Lion's signature cuisine, the Pacific Grille Restaurant and Sky Jockey Sports Lounge are ideal for unwinding with colleagues or friends.Count on the nearby MAX light rail system to keep you connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall and Expo Center, Colwod Golf Course, the Japanese Gardens and Oregon Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.