We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly La Quinta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #88 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the Quality Inn while attending an event at the convention center. WOW! Convenient location, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, great breakfast, and affordable! What more could you want? I'd especially like to mention Clyde who takes care of the breakfast room and is topnotch. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again should I need a room in downtown Portland.

Room Tip: If street noise is an issue, ask for a room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    66
    25
    30
See reviews for
38
49
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel if you're on a budget, or if you'd rather spend money elsewhere (like on the wonderful food of Portland, or at the convention center). Bonus: decent continental breakfast included. The building is older with worn carpet in the stairwells, but it's clean and neat where it counts: comfortable, clean beds, nice size room and bathroom area (I stayed in a very pricey downtown Atlanta hotel which had far less bathroom counter space).
A short walk to the convention center, only 2 blocks to the Max line--very easy ride into downtown Portland. The hotel is right on the bus line on MLK and the streetcar line to the north and southside neighborhoods. The Lloyd Center mall and restaurants are all within walking distance, Starbucks and other food across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for getting aroud without the high prices of the hotels in the downtown area. Very short walk to the Max line (efficient, frequent and fast) and the Streetcar is across the street. It is friendly, quiet, clean and includes a big breakfast. Lots of free parking, so we parked the car and didn't move it until we left. I have already recommended this to friends and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in Portland, but not the cheapest. We're in Portland pretty frequently as my husband used to live there. This was a last minute trip for a funeral and most places nearby were already booked or we never would have paid so much for this awful dive. I wish we had just stayed further out and driven in for the service. The staff were not helpful or accomodating (in fact, they don't even acknowledge you when you walk in), the room smelled so strongly of bug spray and urine that I couldn't get to sleep, there was mold growing in the bathroom, hair on the "clean" towels, and the wi-fi kept cutting out. Not to mention how noisy it was (and I'm not generally bothered by noise). There's zero chance of sleeping in without industrial earplugs and those aren't going to help with the vibrations from all of the carts banging around the hallway or the slamming doors. Oh, and don't get me started on the "breakfast" or how the staff pops your english muffin out of the toaster while you're standing right there watching it. Even the in-room coffee packet had already been opened (but restocked in the display). On the plus side, we didn't have to bring a toy for our dog since the room was so poorly cleaned that my dog was able to just drag one out from under the bed. I wonder what else is down there...

Don't stay here. Stay in Vancouver or Beaverton, if you have to but don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I will be asking for this posting to be removed because this is not our hotel. We do not accept dogs in our Quality Inn and they pictures guest took are not pictures of our hotel. This is an interior corridor hotel and our is an exterior. I am sorry these guests had a horrible stay but I am Thankful it was not our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in Portland, but not the cheapest. This was a last minute trip for a funeral or we never would have paid so much for this awful dive. The staff were not helpful or accomodating, the room smelled so strongly of bug spray and urine that I couldn't get to sleep, there was mold growing in the bathroom, hair on the "clean" towels, and the wi-fi kept cutting out. Not to mention how noisy it was (and I'm not generally bothered by noise). There's zero chance of sleeping in without industrial earplugs and those aren't going to help with all of the carts banging around the hallway or the slamming doors. Don't stay here. Stay in Vancouver or Beaverton, if you have to but don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager431, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. You had booked a room with us thru expedia. You then called us to upgrage to a jacuzzi suite and wanted to pay the difference between what expedia was going to pay us and the cost of the Jacuzzi suite. We informed you that our contract with expedia requires us not to disclose the rate at which we sell our rooms to expedia and therefor you could not simply pay the diffence in price from the room you had booked thru expedia and the jacuzzi suite. We also informed you that you could simply cancel the reseration with expedia and rebook a room a jucuzzi room with us. Jacuzzi rooms are not sold thru expedia. You were very upset prior to arriving at our hotel and were upset that we would not upgrade in the manner you wanted us to upgrade your room. Again, I apologize for not being able to upgrade but we have to go by our contract with expedia when you book a room thru expedia.
As for your other comment, we were not made aware of any of these problems in the room during your stay or at checkout. We will definetly look into the problems you have pointed out and correct them as needed.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The guy who checked us in think his name was garrett was awesome and very professional.
the hotels overall condition is decent.great location good breakfast.the wifi was good no problems
which is unusual for hotels.the only things I noticed that made me a little nervous was all the homeless people picking through ashtrays and trying to get money from me.the room was clean bed was nice and comfy. the only problem i saw in the room was the front door would not latch or close all the way on its own without help we where in room 101.we will definitely stay here again next time were in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.