We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little off the beaten path, but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4319 North West Yeon, Portland, OR 97210 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Portland
A TripAdvisor Member
“A little off the beaten path, but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and while it is in an industrial area a bit off the beaten path, it's worth it. McDonalds, Starbucks and Subway all are nearby for a quick bite. Loved the baby Keurig coffee maker in the room! Those are new. Not too far to get to the freeways into Portland area and not what we found to be a "high traffic" area despite the location. Very quiet, even though we were directly across from the breakfast room and closest to the lobby. Phenomenal that they don't charge for pets to stay. Very unusual to find. Staff were very friendly, especially one very upbeat and outgoing gal who worked the breakfast room. Breakfast was fabulous. Lots of choices. Pool and hot tub were nice. Bed was comfy. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    32
    8
    18
See reviews for
56
54
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel online. It is located out in a warehouse area, but is close enough to downtown that we were able to walk it. (2 miles to 23rd street!) The bus line is just out the door, the beds were awesome, breakfast was good (bisquits and gravy, make your own waffles), and we had a refridgerator and microwave in the room. The pool and hot tub were open 24 hours. We were very pleased with this hotel and what we paid, and would recommend it. Guests that use the bus should know that the bus line does not run out there on Sundays. If you have a car, parking is no problem.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room with a view of Forest Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great value with hotwire. Generous breakfast. Modern clean rooms. The only issue? On a busy street and quite a bit of traffic noise. Bring earplugs, you will be happier. Not much within walking distance. You will need a car. A subway sandwich shop inside a convenience store across the parking lot is the best you are going to do. Fine for us. We were there for a wedding and didn't spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is waaaay out of Portland, to the northwest of the city. For most cities staying somewhere that requires a car to see the sights isn't a problem, but Portland is normally a place you never need a car.

That said: parking is free and plentiful, good breakfast provided, quiet well-appointed rooms, the facilities were clean & well-kept, free internet, cable, and the staff was helpful. Of course, the fact that staying here costs only about 2/3rds of a downtown hotel or B&B balances things out quite a bit.

So, if you're just passing through or plan on having a car (and dealing with Portland parking), this La Quinta is definitely worth a look.

There's a small grocery store/Subway restaurant across the parking lot that's open late - but that's pretty much it for anything nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms all come with refrigerators, microwave, iron/ironing board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great location where you don't have to deal with downtown Portland traffic. Quick and easy access to downtown and the freeways from here. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff is very pleasant. Indoor pool and spa is nice during the winter months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW

Address: 4319 North West Yeon, Portland, OR 97210 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Portland, in NW Portland. We are 100% non-smoking and are pet friendly. Our hotel is directly on the Tri-Met bus line with nonstop service to Downtown Max (light rail). We are the only property in the Downtown area to offer free parking as well as a 24-hour indoor heated pool and spa, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and complimentary high-speed wireless internet. We are also within a one mile radius of a variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland Nw Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.