We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Israel
1 review
“recomendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I had 6 night at this hostel during conference at Oregon.
I enjoyed myself very much. The stuff were grate, the atmosphere was very friendly & the location was excellent (downtown but quiet!).
I have some pics i might add later.
Cheers
Razy Hoffman

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
35
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

A hostel that feels more like a boutique hotel, at least when it comes to the private rooms. Very clean, very friendly staff, and lots of places to eat, drink and shop within walking distance. The patio is *beautiful*. We looked in on the dormitories as well, and were very impressed -- would be great to stay in with our own little group. If all hostels were like this, I'd stay in them all the time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at the Portland Northwest hostel in July of 2009. It was clean, and the staff members were friendly and helpful.

The patio out back is pleasant and nice for relaxing and chatting about trip destinations with other guests.

It was clean and quiet, but I'm sure that it helped that we were there on a weeknight, not a weekend.

I prefer a firm mattress because of my neck and back problems, and the bed was okay. I've been on worse ones at other hostels, that's for sure.

The kitchen was in good shape and very clean.

The location is good, for the Northwest area of the city has lots of neat shops and restaurants. It was a nice area.

There are a few parking spots in their small lot, but get there early to make sure that you can get a spot.

We had no problems whatsoever and would stay there again if we needed to be right in the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed in private room in newest building (there are 3). All was freshly painted & clean. Lovely backyard. Bagels for breakfast & pizza for night snacks (free!). Quiet at 10 pm. Well equipped main kitchen / dining area. Good access to both streetcar & MAX trains, though both are a bit of a walk, like everything in Portland. Trader Joe's supermarket only a few blocks away. Friendly & helpful staff. Internet PCs available but are $1 for 16 minutes & no printer; public library downtown has free internet & printout is available for a fee. Overall, one of the nicer hostels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Okay hostel to stay. Distance to downtown is pretty big. We stayed in a private room, which was so small we almost could''t fit our suitcases in. The bathroom was not too clean, but acceptable. The hostel provides parking licenses for a small deposit. Good service!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Thought I'd wait a bit before writing this review. Portland is such a lovely place it makes everything better!

But after some reflection I still think this is the best hostel I have stayed in on the west coast. My partner and I were here for three nights in a private room. The bathrooms are shared, but there are three bathrooms between 5 rooms so you are never waiting around. The room was spacious and clean. The location is great, you can walk to everything in NW portland and downtown (if you don't mind walking 30 mins - but trust me Portland's great for walking)

The staff are friendly, knowledgable and... enthusiastic! What a pleasant change. Quiet time from 11pm is strictly enforced, which is great. A hostel you can get some sleep in is a blessing.

The kitchen was in the process of being renovated, but was still very useable. Free pizza was provided every night, providing someone was willing to go for a short walk or drive to pick it up.

Parking is provided for free. They have some spots on site but will otherwise give you a resident permit for you to park on the street, where there are plenty of spaces on the block.

The only negative was that it was a little pricey for a hostel ($90/night) but it was far better value than any other west coast hostel I have stayed at.

  • Liked — The staff - they knew loads about portland
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Arrived by Greyhound at the bus station and decided to walk to the hostel but were being followed so we decided to get a taxi. Unfortunately the taxi driver decided to take us on a tour of the city, so we demanded he stopped and we did end up walking (about 25 mins to hostel). The hostel seemed to be in a much nicer area than the train/ bus station and the area was thriving with pubs/restaurants open nearby. We booked a twin room, which was large and comfortable and the bathroom was nearby and clean. We used the laundry facilities which were good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The place was quiet and people were a similar age (20's). We enjoyed our brief stay (2 nights), it was excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Not ensuite (we thought it was when we booked it, our mistake)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Address: 425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.