We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romano's Macaroni Grill
300 SW Yamhill St, Portland, OR 97204-2425 (Downtown)
503-546-3040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Family Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We loved the portion sizes - HUGE. The appetizers were so yummy! The waiter was super nice, and patient with my elderly mother. The kids love drawing on the table. Although it was a Saturday night, and they were crowded, we were seated at a large comfy table within 15 minutes. Love this restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good food preparation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I've gone to this restaurant 4 times and have never been disappointed. The service is excellent and the food is prepared beautifully. I've had the pasta, a shrimp dish and a couple of main dish salads. All very very good! I believe it's a notch above the Olive Garden. You should be very happy with your meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I had the Chicken Marsala - very good, especially the reduction Sauce. Came with about 1/2 cup of pasta. Want vegetable with your chicken? that's extra. salad, extra.
Had a good Malbac wine with our meal.
Service was good, not outstanding. all in all, I would return for a business lunch....not a family dinner

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

With so many so-so reviews and the fact that it's chain I wasn't expecting much. But my friends like it and we had a great meal. My chicken and vegetables were flavorful and I had an excellent Malbec. It was super crowded but the service was attentive and friendly. I'd go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“OK visit ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went here recently as walking around Portland on a Sunday, we could not find many options in this part of town to eat at all. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, but the service was really slow. Once we ordered our drinks, they took about 20 minutes to arrive (and it was not busy). The food was OK; standard italian chain restaurant flare. Total bill for dinner and 1 drink each for two people was just under $40. Overall, it was OK but would not go back if I was in Portland again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.