We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Oaxacan Cuisine in a Casual Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Autentica Mexican Cuisine

Autentica Mexican Cuisine
5507 NE 30th Ave, Portland, OR 97211-6805
503-287-7555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Oaxacan Cuisine in a Casual Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our regular stop for Mexican (not Mexican American) cuisine. As usual, we got the tacos al pastore for appetizers -- always well prepared. They also serve complementary corn tortillas with three sauces. We sat out, there's a nice patio in the back. The three of us then ordered three entrees to eat family style; the server suggested that the entrees be served sequentially, with the mildest first, and this was an excellent suggestion. We had the daily "special" first, a tuna loin, followed by a stuffed pepper (vegan and our favorite that night) and the chicken mole. If it returns to the menu, my all-time favorite is the barbacoa.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nothing good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went there for the staff party and it wasn't a good choice. Service was extremely slow, food wasn't good, drinks were terrible, no one liked it. I wouldn't go back there and would not recommend it to anyone. Also prices are outragious for what you get, honestly the food might be a little better than taco time. Very disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spectacularly Unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited Portland on May 26, 2013, and after web searching for a unique meal in a city famous for food, we decided on Autentica, and were not disappointed! We selected meals we have never tried before, and enjoyed the adventure. The service was excellent, and the quality and food preparation we outstanding. We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food, and wonderful happy hour! My wife and I truly enjoy the authenticity of Autentica from the skeletons to the wonderful dishes, whats no to like!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enchiladas, tacos, guacamole, steak, chicken, everything I tried was great. The location is outside the downtown area in NE but only takes a few minutes to get there. The restaurant is attractive and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Autentica Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Autentica Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autentica Mexican Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.