We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Screen Door

Screen Door
2337 E Burnside, Portland, OR 97214
(503) 542-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,294 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Portland/Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First off, I've only come here for the Sunday brunch. Secondly, don't come here if you're already hungry. The wait to be seated on Sunday mornings have been an hour on average for me. Then you'll have the waiting time for the food to be made as well, as this place gets ridiculously crowded, rain or shine!

Aside from the long wait, the food is good and the servings are large! I recommend the breakfast po-boy sandwich, the fried chicken and waffle, and cathead or something similar to that. I tried finding that last item on their online menu, but their website is in the process of being redone.

Our server was really nice and professional, checking on us periodically and never interrupting us during conversation. She made sure we had a great experience. =)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    126
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We love the food there, have been there many times. Brunch is our favorite. Last time we took a friend on her first visit to Portland and she really enjoyed it. We each had the 3 small plates for dinner and they were all delicious. And the price is very good too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The most excellent and delicate balance of rich, simple flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Disclaimer: I have taken a 4 dish "sampling" order takeaway from this place. I did not eat on location.

I have had PDX native friends tell me about how "Screen Door" was one of the best establishments in the area.

Decided to try for myself, please consider that I am usually very picky.

The fried chicken in itself was perfect in every regard. I wasn't crazy about the sauces it came with (mind you, they were good, I would have just had other ones).

The beef brisket was out of this world. The cracker/pimento combo (both side dishes) was incredible.

Definite must visit. Gastronomical excellence in play.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Southern Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My reviews are always influenced by the vegetarian choices, so we always make a meal of appetizers here as southern cooking tends to be meat based. But the veggie options are wonderful - fresh, well prepared, good service. We tend to arrive early on weeknights and never stand in the huge Sunday brunch line.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is what real fried chicken tastes like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an enjoyable meal. The fried chicken was unbelievable! I have never had collard greens before and didn't really enjoy that part of the meal but the mashed potatoes were great. The portions are huge, atmosphere great and service excellent. They close early so be careful to check their hours so you don't miss out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screen Door also viewed

 

Been to Screen Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Screen Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.