We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make a res” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Screen Door

Screen Door
2337 E Burnside, Portland, OR 97214
(503) 542-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 3,540 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Dessert, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“make a res”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A MUST for dining in Portland. We sat outside on the picnic style tables. Great food, great staff, loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    254
    99
    35
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were Portland on a recent weekday evening desperately seeking a meal and walked in after getting a recommendation from a bicyclist at a stop light. Even though the kitchen had closed, the friendly and accommodating staff offered to make us something. They served us some AMAZING jambalaya. We followed that up with some equally amazing dessert. Overall, an unexpectedly great ending to our night in Portland!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better than this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visit Screen Door every time we're in Portland - it's our very favorite place. Unless you time it just right, be prepared to wait as this is not a huge place and the patio is small. I can't say enough about the quality of the food and the service. They offer daily specials which are often sold out if you go later in the evening. One of our favorite meals is the fried chicken. My son and husband claim that they have never had anything better and order it every time. I try different meals each time and always love whatever I order. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Place for So Many Reasons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ok, this was the only restaurant I looked up in Trip Advisor that I definitely wanted to try out because all the reviews were pretty excellent. I like to not plan things when I visit new cities and just explore, but this was an exception--and I'm so glad! First, I showed up around 5pm in case I couldn't find any parking. But this restaurant is not located downtown, it's across the river in a more residential area (very cute neighborhood). So I found some free street parking pretty quickly. As I got closer to the restaurant, there was already a line halfway down the street. I didn't panic because it's just myself--and there's usually always a seat for one person:) The door opened up and everyone slowly streamed in. I got my seat at the bar and ordered one of their special cocktails; I wish I could remember what it was, but I remember liking it. It was a vodka drink with blood orange in it. My plan was to try and order/taste as much food as I could--I honestly thought that their portions would be on the smaller side because it's such a trendy place. And oh, how wrong I was. Their portions are huge--and for the prices--you can't beat it at all. People talk about how expensive Portland is, but I did not find that to be the case with food. The Screen Door is a steal, especially with the quality of food.
Anyway, I ordered the corn fritters which kicked some major booty. I ordered the shrimp and grits and it was EXCELLENT. I ordered the fried chicken and it was probably the best fried chicken I have ever had. Perfectly flavored, perfectly fried and crispy, just amazing. Mashed potatoes and gravy with some tangy collard greens...oh dear. I also ordered dessert: the chocolate peanut butter ice box cake. Well, I don't have to explain how incredible it was. The peanut butter mouse was like real peanut butter--not too sweet and just the right amount of saltiness. It was to die for. Again, the portions are huge. I didn't finish any one dish, so I took it all back to the hotel.
I love this restaurant and everything it does. It's very creative with typical Southern cuisine, the prices are wonderful (I think), the servings are more than enough, and it's all locally sourced/organic/seasonal. Portland is full of these type of restaurants and I want to eat my way through the city. But Screen Door is truly deliciously sinful. If I lived in Portland, I would probably develop diabetes and heart problems because i would eat here all the time...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really great. Really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I spent a couple of weeks driving through the Pacific NW and NoCal and have dined at 15+ restaurants in that time. Of all of the places we've been to, our meal at Screen Door was by far, the best. I got the Screen Door plate (fried catfish, collard greens and mashed potatoes), where you choose three "side items" off the menu, but don't be fooled by the name - the portions for each side item were hearty and everything was delicious. All the flavors were well balanced and despite polishing off my plate, I was not feeling sluggish or like a greaseball. The service was very friendly, but not in-your-face attentive. And the wide selection of beers is always a plus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screen Door also viewed

 

Been to Screen Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Screen Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.