We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Artisan Pizza

Ken's Artisan Pizza
304 SE 28th Ave, Portland, OR 97214-1808
503-517-9951
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Pizza Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Friday night around 9pm we tried to eat at Apizza Scholls but they “ran out of food”. I asked where else we could get a good pizza and they recommend Ken’s (those that know, know).

Ken’s is not a place a tourist would just come by, it needs to be sought out and it is well worth the effort. Given it was pretty late, we were seated right away and had very prompt service. We shared a garden salad and the Fennel Sausage & Onion pizza. There was an option to add fresh red chiles to the pizza which the waiter suggested we try if we liked spicy food. We did, and wow was it good. Everything was delicious and of the highest quality. Truly pizza perfection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

PROS: After hearing much praise for Ken's artisan, we finally visited, and were not disappointed. The "vibe" is hipster/inner-SE, the pizza is truly beyond comparison with other pizza restaurants in Portland. A few challenges, but all in all, well worth it!
CONS: limited beer selection, expensive wine, no offering of a basic house red for people who would like to drink more than one small glass. Also, the room is loud, crowded, and has quiet an echo to it. For the amount of money charged and the reputation, it would be nicer to be able to have a conversation without having to speak so loudly across the table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“BEST thing my tongue has ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The first thing I wanted when were arrived home from our trip to portland was this amazing pizza. We went there on a thursday so we could get some to go (we have a toddler so to go is better). The pizzas were done in about 7 minutes. Amazingly fast and..the most amazing fresh tasting pizza ever. You can taste every drop of love put into these and each flavor comes out without being drowned in cheese and toppings. The flavors linger on your tongue making you salivate for more. next trip to portland i want kens pizza every night!!! The best food i've ever eaten.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went here with some friends...fabulous pizza. The only downside is they ran out of the dessert we were craving but oh well...off to Salt & Straw we went! But seriously the pizza is crazy good! I had no problem eating a whole one by myself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pizza was delicious but waited so long I might have been delirious from hunger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The wait for this place was like the episode "brunch village" from Portlandia. When you finally get a table , it is communal style. The menu is basically pizza and salads. They have a decent fair priced wine list and they do some good desserts. I had the sausage fennel pizza that was spicy-tangy good. The open floor plan and communal tables makes this a loud place to dine. Assuming I had the time to wait, I would probably return to try another type of pizza here, maybe next time I will bring a book to pass the time in line.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Artisan Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Artisan Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's Artisan Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.