We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo to Toro Bravo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Bravo

Toro Bravo
120 NE Russell St Portland, OR, Portland, OR 97212
503.281.4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bravo to Toro Bravo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Waited about 90 minutes for a table and boy was it worth it. The hostess said it would be that long and said she would call my cell when our table was ready. Worked out great so we could check out local bars and have some fun while we waited. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgable. He helped us pick out a great local wine. I would highly recommend getting the seared cauliflower, the brussel sprouts, and the shrimp. Try allot and share with your group - FUN PLACE. We are visiting Portland but I will definitely get back to Toro Bravo on my next visit to this wonderful city.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    80
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Expensive. Small portions. Atmosphere nice, but loud. Food decent. I expected better based on reviews.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Definitely the place to go if you're craving tapas, with a fun, energetic atmosphere. Great for a group night out. I especially liked the squid ink pasta. This restaurant is always on everyone's list of Portland top restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

So glad that we found this tapas bar on a recent visit to Portland. Ordered the chef's choice tapas selection and it was wonderful. They certainly don't disappoint. The wine selection was excellent. An all-round lovely evening!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of my two favorite restaurants in Portland, OR. Go early or you may have to wait to get seated. And it can get noisy. Nevertheless, I love this place. The tapas are interesting and delicious, and I love all the variety. Even if you don't like prunes, try the French kisses. They are to die for!!! But all the tapas are good--I've never been disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.