We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spain in oregon?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Bravo

Toro Bravo
120 NE Russell St Portland, OR, Portland, OR 97212
503.281.4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 3,555 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spain in oregon?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place was awesome! it was a birthday dinner for me. Everything was delicious, you have to get the churros and chocolate for dessert.... we went to spain for our honeymoon in 2007 and this reminded me so much of some of the great food we had.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    71
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Have to give it a second chance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Being nice with giving it a average rating. We went for New Years Eve and while it was very busy, the service was still poor. Being in the restaurant industry, I know that you should have on extra staff on holidays. There were barely enough waitresses to deliver food. A couple of ours were barely warm when we got them. Also, the food was not well seasoned. I am willing to give it a second chance on a night when they are not so busy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As close to the Spanish real deal you could possibly find in the northwest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from an amazing trip in Spain, this food was hands down the best I've had in the area. It is a little more expensive than the average Portland restaurant, but well worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“El Toro Bravo is Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Tapas in Portland Oregon - sure why not. Excellent food and great service combine for a fantastico dinner experience. Not surprisingly this place gets busy so make a reservation or go early. Don't expect to run in and out of this place - take your time and enjoy! Fortunately, for non-meat eaters there are plenty of acceptable choices. If you have any special requests, just tell your waitperson - they were surprisingly accommodating. When we asked to have the hazel nuts on the side and substitute a sauce it was all smiles and "no problemo" - ok truth - nobody spoke any Spanish and the background music was all Motown (no kidding).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Every Bite - bites back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location to take some friends on a food tour... Served tapas style the portions are small - and excellent. The most fun I have had there is with several people who all order a collection of items and we pass things around. There are full dishes too - all good!
This is a location that is very often over crowded - so even on an off night - plan for a wait - or be flexible. Upstairs in the same building is a cute little 'old-school' bar: The Secret Society. The building has a ton of history - read about it on the stairway up to the bar. (not sure if there is handicap access upstairs). If you show your library card during happy hour - you get special prices - at least the last time I was there.
Location is north Portland in a working class neighborhood - so there is only street parking.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.