We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorite places to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Bravo

Toro Bravo
120 NE Russell St Portland, OR, Portland, OR 97212
503.281.4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite places to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is really good! I am new to the pescatarian world, but this has to be one of my favorite place to eat when I am in Portland. The staff is really friendly and helpful. I love their squid ink pasta dish, definitely a must try for first timers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    74
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dios mio! This place is a power house of cuisine and libations. I frequent the sister spot Tasty and Sons and I must say, I would eat only at these two spots if my wallet allowed. My waiters are always friendly and smart. I trust them and basically let them do all of my ordering. Go here, have fun, feel the joy deep in your belly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love/Hate this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have a love/hate relationship with Toro Bravo. I love to eat here. But I hate the thought of going here. I hate waiting in line at popular restaurants.

My philosophy is that there is enough good food in Portland that it's not worth my time to stand in a line at a hot spot just to be seen at the "right places".

Toro Bravo is a place where people happily queue for their chance to be seen and (eventually) have good food. Is the food worth a long wait? Not to me, but darn, it is good food once you're in the door and seated, which may take an hour or more at prime time. Tapas style, expensive and small portions of expertly-prepared food. Expect to spend quite a bit to leave full and satisfied. Go with people you enjoy spending lots of time with -- plan on at least a couple of hours -- because with the wait and leisurely service, it will be all of that and then some.

Know that the interior is quite noisy, not a lot of sound-absorbing surfaces, so it causes folks to have to shout a bit to hear each other, which only raises the sound level even more. I'll go back, but only if I go early or off-peak.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“It's worth the price to see the chefs working”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This fabulous Spanish tapas restaurant is amazing. Our party of 10 ordered many small plates and every one was A+++. The five chefs work together like choreographed dancers in a very small area in full view. They do their magic without as much as a break throughout the entire evening, creating amazing taste sensations. This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
839 helpful votes 839 helpful votes
“2nd visit: another 5 stars experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is my second visit and can't wait to taste excellent, creative food again. Went there without reservation this time as well around 6pm and didn't need to wait long.

Also refer to my previous review and this time tasting menu is 30$/person instead of 25$ last year. This time we have 4 people and so more plates to taste but I thinks there is better value for 2 people (you will still have same/huge portion of salad regardless of number of people in your table).

Although tasting menu a free style meal of chef's idea, they served same excellent food like fancy salad, bacon wrapped dates with cashews inside, grilled spicy shrimps, corn with cilantro pesto etc this time too. New and worth mentioning this time are Duck Liver Mousse Terrine with morels & house made sidra mustard, Oxtail Croquettes with chili mayonnaise. Latter is especially good and meat from oxtail is served in different forms in same plate! Chicken with cured ham is a really big dish.

At the end, dessert could be a weak link (less distinguished compared to dishes we had or may be we are less interested since so full). Lemon curd crepes is ok (may be more than ok compared to many other places) but I like Baked Summer Fruit with vanilla ice cream. Yummy apple slices with berries and could be the only one I recommend if you still has an appetite to taste dessert.

I still recommend tasting menu to first time visitors but if I visit next time, I might order a la carte for two reasons:
1) to taste dishes I have not had
2) I think I can recreate similar tasting menu (salad, corn, bacon wrapped dates, spicy shrimps as mandatory components and for the rest I will choose like steak with overcooked fries or a big spanish dish like Paella Toro with chicken, chorizo, shrimp, clams & mussels). If you still has room to fill, squeeze in smaller dishes like House Cured Chorizo & Manchego or Salami plate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.