We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen

Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen
1038 Southwest Stark Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
503-222-DELI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 3,541 restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The atmosphere is of a simple diner, but it's the view outside the window that sucks you in. This is classic Portland. A couple of blocks south of world famous Powell's Books, and near other popular eateries and local businesses, you see the best and worst of Portland outside your window.

Ah, but the food. Excellent! It is high priced for lunch ($13.45 for pastrami & slaw). My companions ordered double decker sandwiches for $15.95 each. Not sure if it was the third piece of bread that made it bigger, but it did appear to have quite a lot of meat. This would have been a better choice with a half sandwich left over. Sorry, the auditor in me is doing calculations. The servers got things mixed up and after a couple of attempts we decided just to switch our sides at the table. The coleslaw in non traditional... I'm guessing just cabbage in a raspberry vinagerette? No mayo. The potato salad was German like, but not hot and on the menu it just says "potato salad or coleslaw." No indication you're getting a non traditional side. Still, they were good.

Ok, bottom line, food good, atmosphere interesting (not for kids though), be prepared to spend. There has always been a line at this place when I have gone by, so don't go at noon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    90
    106
    43
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The good sized corned beef reuben was delicious as was the German potato salad. Being Portland, there was of course a selection of good local beers. The server was friendly and helpful. Dessert wasn't particularly remarkable. Combine it with a visit to the nearby Powell Bookstore for a satisfying outing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Environment, Not the Corned Beef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were here yesterday. I agree with Angelia S for the cool, calm environment and awesome music. I asked what their specialty was and the server mentioned that it was the pastrami sandwich.

I really want to give this place high marks, but I just can't. The pastrami in the sandwich was cut way too thick, it was dry, there wasn't enough sauce / mustard and they squished the bread like a panini. It just wasn't what I was expecting. I guess once you've been to Schwartz's in Montreal, all other smoked meat sandwiches just aren't the same.

Other than that, the mimosa's were good, and so was the coffee. I would go back and maybe try breakfast.

One last note:

I almost never mention decor in a restaurant, however all the walls were bare, which was a little weird. If you're going to say that pastrami is your specialty, then why not put up some black and white pictures of your history? Who is Kenny? Who is Zuke? How do they make it? Where? It would taste better if there was an explanation behind it. If you're proud of your product, own it. Make me understand why you serve it like that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great environment, ample food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were unsure why the prices were a bit more than expected (15+ for salad and sandwich) but when we got the plates it all made sense. Tons of delicious food. The servers should actually warn you how much there actually is. Cool, calm environment. Had great service and awesome music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the corned beef, but not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I ordered a corned beef sandwich and a bowl of matzoh ball soup. The corned beef had great flavor. It wasn't overly salty and was perfectly moist. The rest of the meal was lacking. The rye bread tasted stale and was crumbly and hard and my soup was almost inedibly salty. My meal was over $20! I'm used to sandwiches at NY style delis to be piled high and my sandwich had maybe 3-4 slices on it, total. Not a good value at all. The staff wasn't especially friendly and seemed annoyed that I didn't know what I wanted to order as soon as I was seated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.