We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bagels and tastey sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen

Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen
1038 Southwest Stark Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
503-222-DELI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic bagels and tastey sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

On of two locations, this location is just off Burnside Avenue's shopping district. Nice simple vibe, with extended brunch offerings and some awesome looking pastrami! Definitely a hang out for the young urban set of Portland. The chicken salad sandwich was yummy, but my brother could not stop talking about the home-made pastrami. Share a sandwich with a friend in order to save room for some awesome desserts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    118
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really great bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I live where bagels aren't very common or very good when you can find them so I always look forward to getting some here. The service is abysmal but the location is interesting and the food is good enough that you might forgive the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pastrami is Prevalent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went for breakfast. If you like pastrami this is the place to go! With the breakfast “222” you get 2 eggs, 2 strips of pastrami and 2 latkes. Great combination and great way to start the day! Although, the latkes were deep fried and came out a little more done than I would have liked. Also, they didn’t serve apple sauce or sour cream with the latkes. Service was good, but we had to wait about 15 minutes for a table, i.e., it’s a popular place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT FOR PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Saturday morning, Jan. 19th, I drove in from Seattle to meet my friends at KZ at 11:30. I have just returned from 4 months serving in Ethiopia. One of my friends is severely disabled; on double canes, his muscles and speech are very contracted and visibly emaciated. But your hostess was SO RUDE, she asked him for his chair, so he could not sit, she ignored our pleas to divide our group (which was 8, too large for you place without a long waiting time); and MADE US WAIT A FULL HOUR.

My friend was in obvious distress, but he was too proud to ask us to leave—although we wanted to. We remained waiting so he would not feel so badly about disrupting our reunion. Your hostess was VERY RUDE, seemed to delight in keeping us waiting, and doing an amazing power trip on my group. She completely ignored my friends disability and obvious pain. I was furious—but tried not to make a scene so as to not embarrass my friend. However, later, two of my other friends remarked they were SHOCKED by the treatment by the hostess, the 1 hour waiting time (it wasn’t that crowded; many people were seated before us); quite frankly—we were appalled by the treatment in this restaurant! I will never return—ever. NO PROVISIONS for accommodating (within reason) visibly disabled people. I remain furious by the treatment of my friend. We were suppose to have a FUN reunion at Kenny & Zukes—but turned into an embarrassing and very painful experience for all of us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All you would wish for in a deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Coming to Portland from New York City, I found this deli to have all the comfort food one craves, plus a pleasant, airy, uncrowded atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenny and Zuke's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.