We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started looking late at night for a hotel room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
9901 Northeast Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #7 of 132 hotels in Portland
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Started looking late at night for a hotel room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our friends suggested this one so we phoned and got a room. It was pretty good and it was clean and roomy. The bed was good it was a King. The night clerk was friendly and we had a nice conversation. I would guess the price was competitive for the area around the Portland, OR airport. The taxes always add a few bucks to the price. $83 was the tab.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    72
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
78
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in the last three weeks. The front desk is very helpful, especially Sarah. They considered and accomplished meeting a few requests we had. They were very helpful with directions to places we wanted to visit. The room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Close to the Airport with most of the time quick service by hotel Shuttle. Sometimes 20 min wait .
Westside is noisy because of highway 205 traffic all day and night.
Frontdesk helpfull and friendly. Rooms clean, somewhat overdated. Breakfest is ok, mediate.
Price/value rate :good
We stayed here over the last few years about 6 times for one or two nights:Waiting for our International flight. Also easy for short trip to Portland downtown by BART lightrail train , distance 3 min walk . Tickets on railwaystation.
Our big wish is AC 's with no noise! ( we think that's a quality problem ; Northern Europe countries have AC without noise)

Room Tip: If ou sleep light ask for insideroom because of traffic noise on Westside With warm weather all Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We felt a very warm welcome by Stephanie and the hotel staff. Extremely helpful and provided excellent customer service. Elmers restaurant across the parking lot provided us with a fabulous meal, delcious and what a great value! The manager went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great meal and great customer service!

We will definitely stay here again and enjoy Elmer's restaurant!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were upgraded to a executive room which was a bonus. It was a good size with a comfortable king size bed, clean and very clean bathroom. On our trip we stayed at 5 Best Western hotels and this was the best one. Of particular note was the front desk service . Unfortunately I forget the ladies name but she was excellent providing none hotel information , making phone calls on my behalf and printing maps.The full breakfast was good and overall I considered the cost reasonable value. I would definitely stay again. Keep in mind it's not the 4 Seasons hotel.

Room Tip: Choose and inside room facing inwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived at the Portland Airport and had to wait over 20 minutes for the shuttle. The airport is equipped with heaters while waiting outside for the shuttle so that was very nice. Upon checkin, we had to wait a bit as well, but not too long.

First impression was that it looked nice. The room was spacious and clean which was great. We opened the curtains to find a very old trailer court that looked questionable right out of the window so that was a bit daunting but closed the curtains quickly. The heater runs very loud. There are trains that go by during the night which kept us awake. I actually had one of the worst sleeps of my life in this hotel. The noises from different showers/ heater/ fans/ trains were awful. The wakeup call was ontime to go to the airport. The front desk agent was not in a great mood at 5 am as I had a Best Western Gift card that was suppose to be applied the night before and was not even though I had mentioned it to the girl at check-in, therefore she had to correct this and was not happy. Both times the front agents were eating and I felt like i had to interupt them to get service.

I guess when you rate a hotel, the best advice someone could give, is would you stay there again? Sometimes even though I may not have had the best experience I would stay there again because of location, cleanliness, service etc. BUT this time, I would have to say, find another airport hotel as there are a lot and Im sure one can sleep better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.