We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Stay for Portland International Airport and Downtown visit by train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9901 Northeast Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #21 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy Stay for Portland International Airport and Downtown visit by train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Close to the Airport with most of the time quick service by hotel Shuttle. Sometimes 20 min wait .
Westside is noisy because of highway 205 traffic all day and night.
Frontdesk helpfull and friendly. Rooms clean, somewhat overdated. Breakfest is ok, mediate.
Price/value rate :good
We stayed here over the last few years about 6 times for one or two nights:Waiting for our International flight. Also easy for short trip to Portland downtown by BART lightrail train , distance 3 min walk . Tickets on railwaystation.
Our big wish is AC 's with no noise! ( we think that's a quality problem ; Northern Europe countries have AC without noise)

Room Tip: If ou sleep light ask for insideroom because of traffic noise on Westside With warm weather all Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 407JanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We felt a very warm welcome by Stephanie and the hotel staff. Extremely helpful and provided excellent customer service. Elmers restaurant across the parking lot provided us with a fabulous meal, delcious and what a great value! The manager went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great meal and great customer service!

We will definitely stay here again and enjoy Elmer's restaurant!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were upgraded to a executive room which was a bonus. It was a good size with a comfortable king size bed, clean and very clean bathroom. On our trip we stayed at 5 Best Western hotels and this was the best one. Of particular note was the front desk service . Unfortunately I forget the ladies name but she was excellent providing none hotel information , making phone calls on my behalf and printing maps.The full breakfast was good and overall I considered the cost reasonable value. I would definitely stay again. Keep in mind it's not the 4 Seasons hotel.

Room Tip: Choose and inside room facing inwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronash275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived at the Portland Airport and had to wait over 20 minutes for the shuttle. The airport is equipped with heaters while waiting outside for the shuttle so that was very nice. Upon checkin, we had to wait a bit as well, but not too long.

First impression was that it looked nice. The room was spacious and clean which was great. We opened the curtains to find a very old trailer court that looked questionable right out of the window so that was a bit daunting but closed the curtains quickly. The heater runs very loud. There are trains that go by during the night which kept us awake. I actually had one of the worst sleeps of my life in this hotel. The noises from different showers/ heater/ fans/ trains were awful. The wakeup call was ontime to go to the airport. The front desk agent was not in a great mood at 5 am as I had a Best Western Gift card that was suppose to be applied the night before and was not even though I had mentioned it to the girl at check-in, therefore she had to correct this and was not happy. Both times the front agents were eating and I felt like i had to interupt them to get service.

I guess when you rate a hotel, the best advice someone could give, is would you stay there again? Sometimes even though I may not have had the best experience I would stay there again because of location, cleanliness, service etc. BUT this time, I would have to say, find another airport hotel as there are a lot and Im sure one can sleep better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn near the Portland Airport, and it was a wonderful experience! The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable, and they handled several special requests with a smile.

We were picking up our friend's car; she drove to the hotel and then took the hotel shuttle to the airport for her flight out of town; the front desk held her key for us and we picked it up on our arrival the next day. Lisa was the front desk attendant as well as our shuttle driver; she was able to immediately pick us up from the airport, handled all our bags, and got us checked into our room in a matter of minutes. She even gave us a great recommendation for dinner that evening--right next door!

The room was spacious with all the ameneties--fridge, microwave, wi-fi, etc--and the view was a lovely courtyard. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

The hot breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious. In addition to the traditional waffle iron, they had eggs, hash browns, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. Linda kept the breakfast items well-stocked and the breakfast room tidy.

Our checkout was quick and Laura was very friendly. The room rate was great, and there was never any waiting any time we needed the front desk.

It was a great experience and a fabulous start to our vacation! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend this hotel for any travelers flying in or out of Portland. It's worth the stop-over!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to the airport and the price is right. The rooms are spacious, and the most important...,clean with large king beds, good restaurant next door, staff helpful and friendly. You can also park your car if you are traveling out of Portland for a week at a excellent rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn At The Meadows
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing