We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great solo stay, good location and good vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ace Hotel Portland to your Saves list
Ace Hotel Portland
1022 SW Stark Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Portland
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great solo stay, good location and good vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

In summary: a place with the vibe that probably attracted you to visit Portland in the first place, fantastic location with plenty nearby and very central to everything in Portland, yes it is a bit expensive, but I was happy with my stay. I was worried it could be too cool, or that it would turn out to be a dumpy place trading on a cool vibe, but I felt very comfortable and enjoyed it.

I was travelling by myself, and so wanted something central and reasonably comfortable. I had read about the Ace, but did worry it might turn out to be more battered than hip (or that it would be too cool for school). But I had a great stay! I found the staff at the front desk very welcoming on arrival and very helpful about storing my bags on my last day. I loved the local artisan breakfast spread available on the second floor for $10 - a European style spread with pastries, yogurt with various toppings (dried fruits and amazingly delicious granola), a selection of cheese and charcuterie (the Olympic Provisions salami is delicious), juice, tea and coffee, and the New York Times to read. I also ate at Clyde Common a few times - their staff were so cool as to be a bit useless really, but the happy hour has great cheap cocktails and eats. Slightly disappointed with Stumptown Coffee off the other side of the lobby, but being a Melbournian, I have high coffee expectations! I had room 427 - after asking for a room that was both quiet and with good natural light. I am not sure if it is because it was an upper floor, but I found the room to be very quiet, although occasionally other guests slammed their doors quite hard. The room was comfortable, although you should note that the sink is in the room (not the bathroom), I had a shower over bath and the bath would not hold water for an actual bath (leaky plug). I was a bit worried about the futon bed, but I found it reasonably comfortable (not too hard or too low), but a better selection of pillows would have been good. I liked all the amenities available - the magazines, the mini-bar, good cable tv, nice toiletries. Wifi worked fine in my room, but I had some troubles with it on the mezzanine (a good place to hang out and do some work or use the mac computer, but the internet on the mac is slooow). The location is great, just a block to Powell's, very close to food truck pods, cinema right across the street, good public transit nearby. I liked the photo booth in the lobby! Complaints about the elevator seem unfounded to me - maybe I just have always lived or worked in buildings with slow elevators, but it wasn't a problem. I was by myself, and felt fine walking around Portland at night, including around the hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 427 which had good natural light and was quiet - ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    120
    47
    26
    20
See reviews for
28
129
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great hotel. Left the Nines to stay here while combining a business trip with pleasure and this place was perfect. Highly recommend. Hip, cool neighborhood with tons of great restaurants, bars and stores nearby. More of a protland vibe than the soul-lessness of pioneer square. Definitely a great choice for immersing yourself in what makes portland speicial...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We are just about to check out after 3 nights in the Ace. As international tourists, the Ace completely satisfied our needs (and wants). It's in such a convenient location and the coffee shop and eateries downstairs are fantastic. If you're looking for plush, generic accommodation the Ace probably isn't for you. The stairs are creaky, the rooms and fixtures are old but it has so much character and feels more like being at home than a hotel. Our room looked down on a street with a streetcar running along it but it wasn't intrusive at all. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast, NSW
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ace hotel gets everything right. Decor, vibe, location, facilities, bikes.. It is nothing like any other hotel, and almost unbelievable that it is a chain. Firstly, every room is different. Why is this so hard other hotels? Secondly, nothing is beige. Thirdly, the halls are cool, the lobby, nooks and corners. The decor is industrial and the art is fun and real. They have a great restaurant downstairs and great coffee roaster. Deli next door. Vintage photo booth in the lobby. On top of all this we were given what has to be the best room. Huge lounge, decks & vinyl, claw foot bath, big bed. But any room here is a great room. Small or large. I'm thinking next holiday in the US we will just go to ace hotels. We may not bother too much to go outside! please spread your wings to the rest of the world little ace. We need you. With love. Serious love x

Room Tip: Any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is really different, old school with all sorts of quirky little corners and things like the photobooth in the lobby. The room i had was really small with a glass cubicle shower in the room - a bit like a student room really. It was the first time i've had an actually metal key to lock my room in a long time - all thats old has become new!
The hotel is in a great location, lots of shops and restaurants all around. The restaurant and bar attached to the hotel is also really good, gets quite rocking at night! Free wifi in the room. Breakfast options were healthy but limited- very homey.
all very healthy and arty in true Portland style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 201 and had a big lounge room, 2 tvs - 1 in the lounge room the other in the bedroom. Very spacious!

Clean and comfortable stay!

Free bike hire a bonus and the water front a nice ride to see the city's bridges.

But parking the car an additional $25 per night.

Free wifi.

A nice place to stay and location was walking distance to most sights.

A Portland must see- " The Shanghi tunnels"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Original warehouse-chic styling, with army-type blankets and no-nonsense flooring (old wooden; white and black hex in baths).
Quiet.
Stumptown Coffee in lobby.
Very nice restaurant also on premises.
Close to Pearl District.
Just about ideal.
Staff?
Friendly, but not cloyingly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Address: 1022 SW Stark Street, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.