We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pigeon

Le Pigeon
738 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214
(503) 546-8796
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Pigeon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: French, American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th Avenue
Transit: #12 and #20 buses.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amazing restaurant.
The oysters with truffle is divine!

The only problem is to share the table, that's why we asked a place near the window, so we could have more privacy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    50
    20
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a very nice spot. The food is delicious and the wine list is lovely and eclectic. The thing about the place is that you're expecting a transporting dining experience for how much you hear about it. I wouldn't say that I was transported to anywhere other than a funny location on Burnside in Portland. The communal dining is ok with me, not my favorite, but ok. The food again, is delicious, but not something that screams, I have to have it again now!!! Perhaps worth a visit. It's not cheap.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fancy ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Seriously though, I'm not rich so excuse me for underestimating portion sizes... but the food was EXQUISITE and I'm glad I got to be a part of the culinary journey! XOXO


For more tips of cool stuff to do in PDX, check out my blog post: “What to do in Portland if you only have one weekend” you’ll love it. >> http://itsalisa.com/2014/03/07/things-to-do-in-portland/ :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“a bit dissappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I wouldn't rate it as average or very good, just good would be my choice. It was a highly recommended restaurant. very small, you have to sit with onther people on a long table. Sometimes that would bother me, this time it was quite pleasant, we had some nice chats with the other customers. It was hit or miss with some of the dishes. The Halibut was a very good dish.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We could only get 5:15 pm reservation and were leery of eating dinner that early. But it was well worth it!!!!!! The food was extraordinary. We chose the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Even though the courses were the choice of the chef, they asked if there was anything in particular we would want them to include. We asked them to include any of the Foie gras dishes...they kindly accommodated this. The dessert with Foie gras ice cream was amazing! The service was spot on. The wine pairings were innovative and enhanced each dish. I wish this restaurant was here in the DC area...we loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pigeon also viewed

 

Been to Le Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pigeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.