We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 NW 9th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights in room 202 in the Residence Inn. The hotel is very new and is currently clean and quiet. The room is very spacious and has a very nice kitchenette. The courtyard area was excellent and, as our room was right by the stairs, we often walked down and out the side door to play cards or read books in the covered seating area.
The breakfast buffet was very well done, but I was astounded at how much food people piled on to their plates and then left, uneaten Sad, but not the hotel's fault. Good variety with great scrambled eggs, different breakfast meat each day, potatoes or pancakes, fresh waffles, porridge, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, many juices and so on.
The location is great. Just a block from the river walk and two blocks from public transit. A bit hard to get to from the airport, but it just requires a transfer. If you have heavy luggage, it may be better to take a taxi from the Max station.
The staff really tries hard. They appear to be a bit short of people and we waited about 30 minutes to check out while the one staff member was bringing out stored luggage for a very large group of people, but you could see the effort that was being made. The hotel was also sold out that week, so they were working very hard.
The rooms were clean and quiet, but that could be because they were new. I hope the cleaning staff does a good job of keeping them look that way. There was a tiny bit of grime building up in the corners of the shower. Sorry, just getting picky.
Overall, the visit was very good, quiet, pleasant, and definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: away from the elevator, closer to the stair well. Nice access to outdoor courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are delighted that your stay with us was quiet and convenient. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the food in the restaurant, you were able to enjoy our courtyard to relax, and that the room was spacious and clean. I apologize for the amount of time you waited to check out, but thank you for your patience and still being pleased with our staff. We pride ourselves on costumer service and it is good to hear that we are giving good service to our Guests. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
48
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice hotel, nice staff, quiet, new and clean. Great free breakfast. Ideal location. Stayed there for 8 nights. Spacious rooms with fully equipped kitchen. The valet parking is very pricy but you have a public parking behind the hotel on NW Station Way for a lot less money. will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was quiet and clean, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed there for three nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and nice and ultra modern. The beds were very comfortable. The courtyard was great and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District. Wow, thank you for the 5 star review and that our staff all delighted you. We pride ourselves on our guest service and glad to hear that it met your expectations. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and that you had the chance to enjoy the courtyard. We appreciate the time you took to let our readers read your overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great rooms. Fully equipped kitchen. Comfortable bed and sofa. Nicely decorated with modern design. Decent breakfast with occasional activities organized such as BBQ or director's cocktail. Nice courtyard although I didn't have the chance to enjoy it because it was pouring rain. The pool is too small to do laps. The gym is decent. It offers a few cardio machines and free weights. Free wifi. Next to the train station and easy access to mass transit. Walking distance from downtown, but there isn't much right around it. For the price and location, It wouldn't be my first pick for exploring Portland. The Pearl district is up and coming, but doesn't offer much to do on rainy weekdays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room, and that you loved our modern design of the hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not get to enjoy the courtyard, I hope if you choose to visit us in the future that you will get a chance to relax in the sunshine. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This building opened earlier this year, built to their specification. The coffee bar looked great. There were nooks at the front for hang out. The outdoor layout and furniture was out of a TV show. Everything about it made sense from how the bathroom and storage was set up to the kitchen and living room. TV cables completely hidden which is awesome. Generally speaking, I don't care for for hotel decor: very functional but never something I would think to do in a home. This place is an exception. Great apartment feel. Breakfast offerings included hard boiled eggs and fresh cut fruit along with standard fare. The juice I had was watered down but perhaps for the best. Fitness room was standard: 2 treadmills, 1 bike, 1 elliptical. The TV didn't work on the one treadmill. Weights but also medicine balls of various weights and exercise ball. Pool looked nice and right next to the laundry. The staff was clueless about dinner suggestions, let along special requests like GF so use an app. The parking seemed expensive; it appeared as if the garage was not connected to their building but perhaps elsewhere given the valet ran down a couple blocks. All and all great stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Hallways are very long so ask to be near an elevator if that's a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms, the room was clean, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. I apologize that our staff was not knowledgable about restaurants in the area, I will work with them on this information. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel has potential, but there is still a lot of work left to get it functioning at an acceptable level. The staff was friendly, but they couldn't even give the most basic directions clearly. Nobody at the front desk could even tell us how to get to the east side via public transportation, and there were no maps of the entire city of Portland. And it was virtually impossible to reach the front desk on the phone. Nobody answered most of the time.

Additionally, the thermostat in my room switched from cooling to heating arbitrarily several times a day. There was a light in the bathroom that never shut off, and at night I had to close the bathroom door to keep the room dark. The television listings given by the hotel didn't match the actual channels on the television. Fortunately, there was a guide button on the remote, and by pressing that button, I was able to get a channel listing.

I know that this hotel has only been open for a few months, however there are still quite a few kinks to be worked out at this point. Given what we paid for this suite, I don't know that I would stay here again even though the location was excellent. I am surprised that the Marriott Corporation isn't more on top of the situation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrod B, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to the standard you have come to expect from Marriott. We will share your experience with the staff and address the issues you have mentioned in regards to lack of area knowledge and providing correct information in the rooms. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is large and new. Decent lounging areas, although the bar is rather bare. Free reasonable buffet. I had a queen suite, and - especially for the price - found the room rather excellent. Internet is tolerable at the base, included level.

Location is good but not great. There's a large parking garage around the corner, and the light rail is just a block away. If you're going back and forth to the convention center, for example, it's either a quick lightrail trip or a $10 taxi ride.

There aren't _that_ many restaurants within walking distance. The "pearl district" is a new development of high-rise lofts and such, not the older and more artsy areas. If you want real portland flavor, stay outside the pearl district, if you're looking for clean and upscale at a reasonable price, try the Pearl.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the room met all of your needs. Please come back again if your travels bring you to Portland, Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Address: 1150 NW 9th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Pearl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District. Our brand-new extended stay hotel in Portland, Oregon offers spacious and modern studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Enjoy home cooked meals in your suite - you have a fully equipped kitchen at your disposal, and we provide complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator - or take advantage of our hotel's free hot breakfast every morning. If your extended stay is business related, you'll have excellent perks including free Internet access at your disposal. Our hotel also offers a modern fitness center and evening social hours, to allow you to get to know your fellow hotel guests. And our superb Pearl District location puts the very best of downtown Portland, Oregon at your fingertips. Whether you're here for a few days, a few weeks, or an extended stay, the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District will make sure that you thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.