We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 NW 9th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Portland
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I selected this hotel based on the Reviews, as well as the specific location. I liked the fact that the hotel was 'new' and was in the trendy 'Pearl District'. Initially, I was disappointed that our room was not ready at 4pm (since we were told it would be). However, the front desk staff worked hard to find us a room, so we didn't have to wait too long. The room was very nice, clean, with a nice view (we asked for a higher up floor). They were also helpful with directions and answered all our questions. The hotel offers free breakfast and Internet, which was also one of my requirements. Easy walks into downtown and lots of fun places to explore within the Pearl District.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of the positive comments. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was clean and you enjoyed the view, and you that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and internet. We are excited to hear that you were able to explore all of the fun places in the Pearl. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
35
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just opened June 2014 so all is in great shape here, very comfortable room with usable kitchen and nearby Safeway store or further away Whole Foods, great bed comfort, climate control without loud fan blowing, good breakfast in the morning, social hour treats on select days, pool is small, a sauna would be nice here, no free weights in fitness center but useful treadmills. Very pleasing design through out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that our hotel was convenient for your stay, and that you enjoyed our rooms. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our social in the evenings! Please visit us again if your travels bring you back to Porltand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I normally prefer the full service Marriott's but I was very impressed with this Residence Inn. The hotel was relatively new which helped a lot. The rooms were very clean, well laid out, and had everything we needed. The lobby was bright and large and the staff was friendly. There was a nice outdoor courtyard with fire pits as well. The hotel location is great - walking distance to so many things!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the street and not the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Wow- thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel. We are excited that we exceeded your already very high expectations and that your room was clean, up to dae, well laid out, and had everything you needed. We are happy our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please visit us again if your travels bring you to the Portland area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed on our family vacation with our wheelchair bound son. The room was the largest we have ever stayed in. This was so helpful for our family. The accommodations were awesome! The hotel is only a block away from the Amtrak station. All of the staff were friendly and willing to help. The breakfast selections were some of the best we've ever seen so don't skip out!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was large, accommodating, and met all of your needs, and you enjoyed our breakfast selections.. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Love the location and the rooms of the new Residence INN in the heart of the Pearl District of Portland Or. Have stayed 2 times in the past 2 months with husband and toddler. Staff very helpful, rooms that look over the huge courtyard are quiet. Wish the window opened a bit wider. Not sure what the colorist or designer was thinking by using SO MUCH electric sunflower yellow on the outside of the building, however, the small touches on the inside are fun!

Room Tip: Up high over looking the large and wonderful courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that everything was quiet, you loved the view from your room, and that the staff was nice and efficient. We are so happy to have you as a returning Guest, and we will look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel should serve as a model for all hotels that do a remodel or build new ones. As consumers, we want to feel like we are staying some place special, not just some drab and dreary hotel room. We want to have lots of natural light in our room, windows that open, and a clean, modern decor. We need comfortable beds and quality high speed wi-fi internet service free of charge. We desire a beautiful shower with plenty of ventilation and excellent water pressure. Lastly, we need a quiet and restful place where we get a good nights sleep for our busy day ahead (whether business or pleasure). This hotel foots all of those bills nicely with just one caveat. The hotel is adjacent to the train tracks along the water. As such, you WILL hear train noises in your room. However, that was the ONLY noise I heard. Never did I hear any water running, feet stomping, loud talking, or any other noises that you normally associate with a hotel. Police and ambulance sirens were notably absent for being in such a large metro area as Portland. Unfortunately, it's just the reality of the location - trains make VERY loud noises and there is no way to avoid it. I didn't sleep well the first night as a result, and I ended up taking a sleeping pill the second night just to be on the safe side. I was on the top floor (6) facing the train tracks. I'm not sure if the other side of the hotel is a little quieter, I imagine it may be so if sleep is your concern do ask for a room that doesn't face the train tracks.

Parking is very expensive, $32 a day. I was a bit shocked given the ample availability of free on-street parking. I was able to park on the side of the hotel both nights right on the street with no problems. Move your car by 8AM or start paying for parking, which is $4.75 for 3 hours of on-street parking.. Not bad.

The location can't be beat. The Pearl District is portlands MODEL to the rest of the country for urban in-fill. Everything is walkable here. The neighborhood is CLEAN and SAFE, I rarely ran into any transients or beggars like you would normally find in a big city. There is a Safeway grocery store just blocks away that is brand new and has everything you could possibly need including an amazing selection of wine and beer from local breweries and wineries, so you can probably skip the hotel pantry unless you just don't feel like walking 3 blocks. There are a ton of great restaurants and bars all within walking distance, and some of the most amazing coffee shops I've ever been to. Seriously, the coffee in Portland is hands down the best coffee I've had in my life. Keep in mind, restaurants close EARLY in Portland during the week they shut down at 9PM, so make sure you are seated before 9PM so you can eat dinner! 24 Hour Fitness (SUPER SPORT) and LA fitness are just blocks away if you don't want to use the hotel gym. The hotel gym isn't bad, high quality Life Fitness equipment, some dumbbells, etc, enough to get a decent work out in. The hotel pool is a bit of a joke, but I imagine most people won't be staying here for the pool. There is no jacuzzi. I think given the size of the pool it would have been nicer if they had just made it a giant jacuzzi instead. There are on-site laundry facilities if you need to use them.

For those who need to escape their room but not the hotel, there are some beautiful spaces throughout the hotel to sit and relax. Outside they have couches and a covered cabana area, there is a beautiful fireplace in the lobby, and lots of sitting areas, some with TVs as well. This is a great use of the space, and very nice if you don't want to feel caged up in your room the whole time but don't want to venture outside the hotel. They serve free breakfast in the morning. It looked like your standard Residence Inn breakfast, with plenty of goodies for everyone.

The hotel has 3 elevators, all high speed, so you'll never spend time waiting for the elevators. The staff here are all very friendly and helpful. I asked for a razor, but they ran out, which was kind of unfortunate, but luckily Safeway was just a few blocks away. Razors are important to business travelers because the TSA doesn't let us put them in our carry on's. :)

Overall, this is probably one of the best hotels I've stayed at, the decor is just so beautiful and you feel like you're someplace special, not just at another hotel. If it weren't for the train noise then this would have been a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the train tracks on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of the detailed positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, up to date rooms, comfortable beds, open showers, high speed internet, our fitness room, the courtyard, and that you were able to enjoy every asepct of your stay with us. I apologize for the noise of the train tracks, I can assure you that the other side of the hotel is much quieter. If you choose to stay with us again I will be happy to place you on the other side of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and that it was convenient for your stay in Portland, and that you were able to try our Portland coffee! Thank you for all of the information you have provided, and thank you for letting us know how special our hotel felt. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stay at Marriotts a lot, and this was my first time staying at a Residence Inn. We loved it! They put us in a lovely corner room because it was our anniversary. The room was so new, clean, colorful, spacious...and the kitchen appliances were nicer than my own at home! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Loved having free breakfast in the morning.

Only complaint was the shower. It was one of those ones with only half a door on it. I know that's "the style" now, but I always get so cold in them. The water pressure from the shower head was weak also.

Location was great! 5 min walk to the Amtrak train station and a block away from a streetcar stop.

Can we move in?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Wow- thank you for your wonderful "5 star review" on our hotel. We are excited that we exceeded your expectations and that your room was clean, up to date and well maintained. We are so happy that you received friendly service, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. It would be a pleasure to have you as our resident in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Address: 1150 NW 9th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Pearl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District. Our brand-new extended stay hotel in Portland, Oregon offers spacious and modern studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Enjoy home cooked meals in your suite - you have a fully equipped kitchen at your disposal, and we provide complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator - or take advantage of our hotel's free hot breakfast every morning. If your extended stay is business related, you'll have excellent perks including free Internet access at your disposal. Our hotel also offers a modern fitness center and evening social hours, to allow you to get to know your fellow hotel guests. And our superb Pearl District location puts the very best of downtown Portland, Oregon at your fingertips. Whether you're here for a few days, a few weeks, or an extended stay, the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District will make sure that you thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Tingo and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.