We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, good location and price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Place

Save Saved
You added University Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 SW Lincoln Street, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 132 hotels in Portland
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OK hotel, good location and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We were looking for a centrally-located hotel but didn't want to pay the prices most downtown properties charge. This place fits the bill.

The corridors are a bit worn and the hotel definately shows its age. The room was OK - the bed comfortable and the room was quiet. The place was clean but we did have to request housekeeping after the first night as it appears they forgot to do up the room. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room.

Parking adds $12 per day to the bill but it was still under $100 per night.

The hot breakfast included in the price was OK- nothing special but it did fill us up both mornings.

The hotel is about two blocks from the streetcar line and so it was really easy to get around. It wasn't all that far from "downtown" and we did walk it a couple of times.

I'm not sure we would stay here again, but for what we wanted on this trip it worked out fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    51
    28
    20
See reviews for
27
40
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Close to the streetcars and light rails. Good food. I didn't like the dark hallways though. Room is not sound proof, you can hear the shower from the other room and people walking around.But would definitely recommend for travelers on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just a 30 minute brisk walk to the Pearl district where hotels start at twice the rate, this hotel is located by the university. Good breakfast with lots of options. Friendly staff. Although a lot of students stay there for football games, the room was quiet at night. Fine for the price. Did not like the $12 parking fee, but the rate could have just as well have been $12 more for the room so no big deal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The front desk staff is very unprofessional and rude and that stopped me cold since everyone in Portland seems so friendly. They do not make you feel welcome and there are much nicer places to stay in Portland. The room was dark, there is loud construction going on outside, I cannot recommend this based on the uncaring ways of front desk staff.

Room Tip: If you'd like a tip on choosing a good room, go elsewhere. There are many nicer hotels in Portla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Bitter front desk staff. They never look up to see who is in the lobby. Sales staff was put out when I asked about information on potential event in the future. They were quick to tell me they were "very busy with another in house group".They didn't know I was thinking about having a three day conference.nor ask. On a bright note the bar staff was really friendly and was quick to give me directions and make me fell welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times over about 10 years. Used to love it - basic, inexpensive, good location, pool which my kids loved. But it has just gone down hill too much. I didn't mind all the construction in front - that is the City not the hotel. But the rooms which are quiet in the back are DARK - one small window that opens onto the outside corrider. There were not enought lights in the room to do much of anything. We were there in August but it felt like December in our room, even with the curtain over the window open.

The lobby offers no relief - also just too basic and tired. It isn't even that good a deal anymore. Next time I'm paying more and staying elsewhere. Until this hotel is completely remodeled, I cannot recommend it. You can probably pay less at the Days Inn or whatever else is in the immediate area and it won't be any worse.

Room Tip: As long as there is construction on the LIght Rail - ask for a quiet room in the back. It will be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ended up at this hotel when we arrived in Portland and found that our condo had been double booked. The hotel lobby is nice and the desk clerks were very helpful. The rooms were clean (we had 2 rooms for 7 days) but pretty basic. Our rooms overlooked the pool which could be very noisy since the windows did not seal very well when shut. There was no way you could take a nap in the afternoon or go to sleep early because of the pool noise. Also, at the time of our visit there was a major construction project going on in front of the hotel which began early in the morning and continued on into the early evening hours. They are reconstructing a road or running the public transportation line through there so it doesn't appear that it will be done any time soon. The hallways to the rooms was very smelly - I almost turned around and went back to the desk to check out but once in the room I did not notice any smell. Also, be aware that this is called the "University Place" for a reason. A lot of student athletes, etc., stay at this hotel when they are traveling to Portland State University for meets and games, etc.

That being said, the location of the hotel was great. We were able to walk into town with no problem. The area felt safe (once you crossed the construction zone) and there were some small parks nearby to sit and read. The river was just a couple of blocks away - easy to walk to. The best part for us was that it was available when our other accommodations fell through.

The free breakfast was very good - hot food every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes) as well as pastries, coffee, bagels, toast, cereal, etc. Plenty of room to sit down and enjoy a meal.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place

Address: 310 SW Lincoln Street, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 132 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.