We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added University Place to your Saves list
University Place
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 SW Lincoln Street, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ended up at this hotel when we arrived in Portland and found that our condo had been double booked. The hotel lobby is nice and the desk clerks were very helpful. The rooms were clean (we had 2 rooms for 7 days) but pretty basic. Our rooms overlooked the pool which could be very noisy since the windows did not seal very well when shut. There was no way you could take a nap in the afternoon or go to sleep early because of the pool noise. Also, at the time of our visit there was a major construction project going on in front of the hotel which began early in the morning and continued on into the early evening hours. They are reconstructing a road or running the public transportation line through there so it doesn't appear that it will be done any time soon. The hallways to the rooms was very smelly - I almost turned around and went back to the desk to check out but once in the room I did not notice any smell. Also, be aware that this is called the "University Place" for a reason. A lot of student athletes, etc., stay at this hotel when they are traveling to Portland State University for meets and games, etc.

That being said, the location of the hotel was great. We were able to walk into town with no problem. The area felt safe (once you crossed the construction zone) and there were some small parks nearby to sit and read. The river was just a couple of blocks away - easy to walk to. The best part for us was that it was available when our other accommodations fell through.

The free breakfast was very good - hot food every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes) as well as pastries, coffee, bagels, toast, cereal, etc. Plenty of room to sit down and enjoy a meal.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    39
    62
    31
    26
See reviews for
33
45
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent the night here on Monday September 10, 2012. The hotel was recommended to me by Portland State University, as my son was having an Orientation the next day. The hotel offered a cheaper price for parents of PSU students which was $119.00/night plus an overnight parking fee- $12.00 (ouch!), local taxes etc, grand total $145.88. Pretty steep for such a basic hotel. The nicest feature of the hotel were the warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival and the morning breakfast. The rest of the hotel was just "okay". It looked like one of the hotels that had seen better days. The road leading to the hotel was bumpy and being completely torn up. The hallways were dingy and dark - a little scary. The outside appeared old, lightbulbs were missing on walkways etc. One nice thing, my bathroom didn't have a working lightbulb, I called the front desk and the service department arrived promptly and replaced the bulb. The front desk was friendly. Worse feature? Our room was overlooking the highway and the noise level was terrible. We heard the traffic all night. Would I recommend this place? Probably. But if it wasn't for the discounted price, I would have stayed somewhere else cleaner and nicer overall.,,

Room Tip: Dont get a room right by the highway!! The noise level is awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay an extra night. The first thing to comment on is the desk staff, very helpful. The room itself was absolutely fine, it was quiet when we went but would imagine it would get quite noisy at peak times. The breakfast was also fine, lots of choice of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We chose this hotel for a family reunion celebrating a graduation from Portland State in mid-August. There were 17 of us in 7 rooms, including a suite that we used for evening gatherings. Some were there for 2 nights, others up to 5 nights. All the rooms (kings with rollaways, doubles, adjoining king and double and of course the suite) were deluxe, which meant they were upgraded and had a microwave, refrig, flat screen tv and balcony - well worth the extra $10. Because we were here for university commencement, there was an even lower rate from what was already very reasonable. Wi-fi worked just fine. Kids as well as adults enjoyed the pool, and there were lots of tables around it for us to gather. Free breakfast was very nice with eggs, bacon and sausage, potatoes, sweet rolls and muffins, variety of juices, etc. I was impressed that all the breakfast utensils as well as paper plates and cups were compostable. We didn't hear any of the construction noise. This was convenient for public transportation or for walking to destinations, and those with cars didn't fuss about the parking fee. Staff was very courteous and helpful with all our questions. We had take-out from the hotel's Lincoln Station Grill two nights around the pool, and that worked out very well. Everyone in our party said they thought the hotel was perfect for our family reunion and thought that having a suite also had been a very good idea. And the large yummy chocolate chip cookie when we checked in was a plus, too!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room - it is well worth the small amount of extra money. We were on the southwest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

There is major road construction taking place right in front of the hotel, starting at around 5 am. I know the hotel isn't doing the construction, but it did make sleeping pretty hard. I asked at the desk what was happening and they said the construction will take years not months or weeks. I asked if they had ear plugs. "No, but you can buy some if you need them." So, even through the room was nice, and very close to what I came to see, (Portland State University) I would give it a thumbs down unless you can sleep through trucks going beep, beep beep and generators making non-stop noise in the early morning hours. When I looked to book a hotel room I didn't think to ask if there was major road construction going on just outside the front door, so I hope you see this and it helps you find a quiet hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that is far awy from the Lincoln St side of the complex, Tell them you know the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here a few days ago at the end of a trip through the US. We chose to stay here as the Budget rental is here where we had to return our car.

We had a very old room, very old (we didn't think we would). The wifi didn't work and we were told when booking the hotel had wifi - there was a cable to plug your laptop into though. When we awoke in the morning the roof was leaking on us, so we went down and complained and were moved after breakfast to a deluxe king room for a few hours until we checked out which was very nice. I thought the room we initially booked would look like the deluxe king room (which was quite nice).

The breakfast was very average, served on paper plates with paper cutlery, quite odd. The night before we had dinner and drinks at the restaurant downstairs and the server (only girl working) 'kept' $5 on our bill when bringing the change. I'm not sure if she did this on purpose and decided on her own tip or didn't add what we gave her up properly, but we didn't tip her because of this, we thought it was quite rude, she would have got a tip otherwise.

The hotel is quite old, we have had a lot better for less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Easy access off freeway. When its hot weather - hang by the pool or walk down to the water front. 10 blocks to the water, Public market and downtown. Staff are friendly and courteous. Lots of rooms available when we booked same day. Showing signs of age but still comfortable. King bed and balcony over the pool = awesome. Air conditioner worked great. I would book here again. Parking limited - probably due to road maintenance. $12 fee for parking by University. Parking fee is a turn off.

Room Tip: King beds and by the pool if you can. Make sure you pay the parking fee and confirm where to park. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place

Address: 310 SW Lincoln Street, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.