We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rogue Ales Public House Brewery

Rogue Ales Public House Brewery
1339 Northwest Flanders Street, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)
503 222 5910
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 190 Activities in Portland
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Beers were just ok.
Service was just ok (if not below average).
Value wise it's ok but I wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location: Pub inside Brewery by Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I couldn't find separate listings for the two Rogue venues in Newport. The one on Bay Blvd is the bar one; but the one I'm writing about is the brewery, near the Aquarium and Holiday Inn Express, on the South side of the bay.

The pub we went to is actually inside the brewery. The food was very good--a friend of mine said to go to this location vs the one on Bay Blvd, due to the food. My son's meal came out on a take-home Frisbee, which was a fun surprise. Both my husband and I had a flight of beer before choosing a few to have the rest of the evening. We visited the gift shop as well and bought some beer to go.

There were four adults and three kids in our party. We had absolutely no problem with the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best place to enjoy Portland's Craft Beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great fun place.....tens of craft beers to choose from and good food to go along with the good beer. Very busy, so get there early.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I came to Portland expecting some great beers, and have had Rogue back home before, but was extremely disappointed with the Rogue Ales Public House.

Upon seeing the sign that said "seat yourself" we followed directions and did so outside with other drinkers/diners. After 20 minutes of no server in sight, we went inside and ordered at the bar. It took a while to order from the busy bartender, but we finally got our drinks and sat back down. Only them did the server come ask us if we needed anything...by that time we were good.

What made us even more upset is that the server announced to her tables that they were offering free samples of a seasonal. She did not, however, offer one to us because we were not her table. Needless to say I will not be coming back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmmm hazelnut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We did not eat here but had a couple samplers of beer. Hands down my favorite was the Hazelnut Brown Nectar. Sooooo delicious! Would have liked to have been able to hit the distillery and purchase some of the hazelnut rum but it was only open Friday-Sunday. Fun craft brewery to try lots of different styles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Public House Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rogue Ales Public House Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rogue Ales Public House Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.