We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentinel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sentinel to your Saves list
Sentinel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on Trip Advisor!
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
1 review
“Its Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The valet is expensive and their lot filled up anyways.
The staff is nice but never followed up on any request.
Gym is big and nicely kept but there's nothing else.
Staff restaurant recommendations weren't the best. I had better luck guessing.

It's good but really just not worth it for the price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    82
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
167
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in a room with 2 queen beds- I love the color schemes of the room. The lobby is beautiful- attached to Jack knife a popular night club. Location is ideal and close to everything. Would definitely stay here again.
Bed was super cozy, room very clean and spacious.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff was wonderful. Huge fan of great service, and this place had it in spades. They lose points in the fact that there were very large stains on our curtains and headboard. Makes you wonder what else is dirty when something so obvious is ignored. Also called room service for some extra room amenities but they never showed up. But overall the front desk, valet, and all workers there were very friendly and professional. Bed was super comfy as well, but with those curtains and headboards a mind does wander unfortunately...

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great boutique hotel. The design is a combination of historic modern luxury. My corner king room had an amazing fireplace, nice bathroom and the most comfortable hotel bed ever. The restaurant is good, but they're not quite ready to go when they open at 7am. The hotel bar doubles as a very popular night club. The location is great and very close the all of the food trucks downtown. The service was average or perhaps a bit above. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Large corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I were on our way to Seattle for our one year anniversary and we decided to stop in Portland for the night and made last minute reservation.

1.The wonderful experience started with the valet, the were very patient and helped us unload all the luggage while we took care of our dog.

2.The gentleman at the front desk was very accommodating and once we told him we were on our anniversary he upgraded our room to the top floor with a wonderful view. Answered any and all questions. They even sent up a doggy bed with bowls for food and water.

3 The room itself was very clean and tidy. Very comfortable bed with the softest sheets. The room service was pretty speedy as well with wonderfully tasting food!

All and all my wife and I think it might be the best experience we've had at a hotel. Everyone in the staff was more then willing to help with any and everything we needed.

I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautifully restored with spacious 5th floor room and lovely view facing west. Quiet, comfortable bed and great shower head. Public areas are well designed with amazing architectural preservation. Easy walk to restaurants in the Pearl District.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is the renovated version of the old Governor Hotel in Portland. Jake's restaurant has been integrated into the hotel, which was a nice touch. Everything about the hotel is first class, from staff to amenities, to the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentinel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentinel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.