We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Redo of Old Landmark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentinel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sentinel to your Saves list
Sentinel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Trip Advisor!
Ranked #3 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Redo of Old Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are lucky enough to visit Portland several times each year. Our usual haunts were booked, and so we gave the Sentinel Hotel a try. The standard room was comfortable, but very dark. We appreciated the fact that the room was not cookie cutter in shape or decor. It was clean and comfortably appointed. There was room to open our suitcases and spread out our purchases. The location was great. We were given the opportunity on check-in to pay more to upgrade our room, but as we had pre-paid for our room, I was a little taken back by this offer. We took the MAX to and from the airport and walked everywhere. We found the location a perfect fit for our weekend plans. The lobby has a popular bar and a Starbucks, and Jack's Grill Restaurant is downstairs. We learned that these are independent leasees so that the interface with information shared by staff is not seamless. We enjoyed our weekend and would reserve this hotel again if the price stays competitive with our favorite haunts.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    72
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
142
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. You almost felt as if you were staying in an opulent home with gorgeous furnishings and added features like antique books, reading nooks,etc. the staff was top notch and very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved my stay. Great room (thank you for the upgrade Sentinel) on the 6th floor, great views and plenty of space. Fireplace was fun on a rainy evening. Staff were kind and shared great restaurant information. Next time I might ask for a room with a larger window, but overall was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean and nice hotel. LOVE the tub/Jacuzzi after walking around the city. Close to everything. The staff were superb. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Don't need a car. Food truck behind the hotel. A good rain jacket if visiting this time of the year, but the hotel have umbrella to use. Ringside Steakhouse was recommended by the front desk "Good restaurant if graving for steak" Bee Shaw café is a great breakfast place on 23rd street. Overall Portland is a "rose city" for sure. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Everything was great! The room was spacious as was the bathroom, the bed was super comfortable. We were here for an event in the hotel and would stay again if the opportunity arises. This hotel is in a great location in downtown Portland, you can drive, walk bike or take MAX.





  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This sophisticated yet funky hotel is right in the heart of it! Food truck heaven nearby, great restaurants, attractions, nightlife, etc. The staff were great; knowledgeable, professional and helpful. The hotel had a lot of features I enjoyed: 24 hour roomservice, a Starbucks in the building that is one of the 'evening stores' (so they sell wine and tapas after 4 pm), a popular bar, really comfortable bed with a pillow menu, and free wifi.
The only thing I didn't love is that the window in our room was quite small so there wasn't that much natural light. We didn't mind, as we were out exploring most of the time anyways :)
I would recommend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, cool design, and helpful staff. Worth staying here! I reached out to the staff to let them know my family was coming in town, and they were very kind in accommodating them. The Sentinel is a really good representation of the classic, historic architecture of our old city melded with tasteful, modernized design.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sentinel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TravelClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentinel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.